Ridge Racer Type 4 Remake?

Ace Combat 7 director polls fans on Twitter about which entry in the Ridge Racer series they’d like to see a remake for

Leonardo Ito
Leonardo Ito

--

Earlier this week, Ace Combat 7 Game Director Kazutori Kono polled fans on Twitter about which entry in the Ridge Racer series they would like to see a remake for.

Among the choices, there were the first Ridge Racer, Ridge Racer Type 4, Ridge Racer 7 or a special version of Ridge Racer that apparently would include real world cars.

The 12 year old in me got pretty excited at the possibility of seeing a remake for Ridge Racer Type 4, my personal favorite in the series. I remember back in the day when the first thing I’d do after getting home from school was firing up my PlayStation and playing this game all afternoon.

I can’t tell what exactly sets Type 4 apart from the other games in the series, but I guess it’s a mix of nostalgia and focus on the racing itself, rather than timing your nitros right as they had in later entries. That’s not to say I don’t like the most recent games. Quite the contrary, I love every single one of them, but Type 4 has a special place in my heart.

If you’ve ever been to Tokyo, you’ll most certainly recognize the scenery

I also remember a time where I used to daydream about visiting Japan and even though I was too young to understand that many of the tracks in the game were actually inspired by Japanese landscapes and cityscapes, racing them always gave me that futuristic feeling I often associated with Japan. Couple it with one of the best soundtracks I’ve ever listened to in a game and you have a masterpiece to be remembered.

I’m loving all this racing genre revival in the current generation and I can’t wait to see what they have in store for the future.

And as far as my wishlist goes, if the Ridge Racer Type 4 Remake ever becomes a reality, all that’s left is the revival of the Project Gotham Racing series.

I’ll have my fingers crossed.

--

--

Leonardo Ito
Leonardo Ito

Comic book colorist, crazy about racing games and Japanese culture lover. Also, currently in love with otters. www.leonardoito.com