Tokyo Motor Show 2015

My first time attending an automotive fair ever

Leonardo Ito
Leonardo Ito

--

Tokyo Motor Show 2015 marked my first time attending an automotive fair ever. It was also the first time I’ve ever been to Tokyo Big Sight, this monumental architectural feat that is host to so many important events in Japan. It’s also deceivingly huge once you’re inside, which caught me completely by surprise.

There were basically two floors taken up by several pavilions where manufacturers had their stands on display, showcasing anything from new technologies to new cars.

I noticed some manufacturers missing, such as Lamborghini or Ferrari, but there was so much to see that you probably wouldn’t mind the absense of either manufacturer.

One of the cars I was looking forward to see in person the most was the McLaren P1 and surprisingly, it was the very first car I came across as soon as I turned right on the first pavilion I saw.

Another one on my list was the Mercedes Benz AMG GTS, which is on my “If-I-ever-become-a-millionaire” wishlist.

There were a bunch of concept cars from different manufacturers such as Lexus, Mazda, Nissan and Mercedes Benz as well.

It took a little patience, but I managed to get through the crowd to get a shot of the wildly radical designed Nissan Concept 2020 Vision Gran Turismo developed in conjuction with Polyphony Digital — the studio behind the guess what… Gran Turimo series.

But the real star of the show was the Mercedes Benz F 015 self-driving concept car. I love the clean and sleek lines on this one and since I love LED lighting so much, the LED filled front section just made me love this car even more!

I hope I live long enough to see these cool looking cars around the streets someday. Heck, I hope I have enough money to own one by then.

Tokyo Motor Show was a dream come true to me. As someone who’s been playing racing games ever since I was a little kid, having the opportunity to see some of the cars I’ve virtually driven for over 20 years got me excited and in many ways it felt magical. I left Tokyo Big Sight wanting to own a car so bad, so let’s make it a priority on my list.

--

--

Leonardo Ito
Leonardo Ito

Comic book colorist, crazy about racing games and Japanese culture lover. Also, currently in love with otters. www.leonardoito.com