Navigating the tech industry as a Muslim woman

Fatimah
Jigsaw XYZ
Published in
5 min readDec 13, 2021

As I reach my one-year anniversary at Jigsaw XYZ, I want to reflect on and share my journey, from studying to getting my first technical role. Here’s what I’ve learnt so far, along with some tips for women aspiring to break into the tech industry.

Where I began

I enrolled at university as a biology major, determined to follow a career in genetic research. At 18 years old, I was adamant about becoming a scientist. Then I took a biology class and my plans came crashing down around me. I hated it, and for the first time in my life, my grades were low. For someone whose whole life is organised in a planner, it was terrifying that my life plan wasn’t going to plan.

But the benefit of going to an American university meant that I could try multiple courses before settling on one. I tried the whole lot, but nothing seemed to appeal. Then one day, in absolute frustration, I put down a laptop showing a list of possible majors and minors in front of my dad and said, “pick one.”

He told me that whatever I decide to do in life, I should know how to code, and to try out a coding class and see if I liked it. I signed up for computer science and absolutely loved it. I was happy to go to class, my grades went back up, and my life plan was back on track.

Graduation was soon around the corner and I noticed that a lot of my classmates (more often than not the boys) had interviews for full-time jobs. I heard groups of students discussing possible interview questions for Google and Microsoft, and thought, “I don’t know the answers to these.” They didn’t know the answers either — that’s why they were huddled around during labs discussing them with each other — but it didn’t seem to deter them. What I noticed, however, was my own reaction. If I couldn’t answer questions like these, I thought, then there was no point trying to go for interviews if I wasn’t going to pass. I needed to be better.

Starting my master’s degree

We’ve all read the articles that state that men will wait until they’re 70% qualified before they apply for a role, whereas women will usually wait until they’re 100% qualified. Looking back on my journey, I realise that I was part of that statistic. Up to that point, however, I had never felt that I wasn’t good enough or smart enough because I was a girl. But, when I finished university, I felt like I hadn’t learnt enough to land a full-time job. So, I went back to university and completed a master’s degree in artificial intelligence.

After handing in my dissertation, I gave myself a month’s break as a reward, until I got bored and started hunting for a job, and that’s when I landed an internship at Jigsaw.

You got a seat at the table, now what?

The internship felt like a great victory. Job hunting as a minority woman can feel like you’ve been knocking on a door trying to get in for a long time until you’re finally allowed in to take a seat at the table. Only now you’re at the table, you notice that you’re the only person at the table who looks like you. As the only woman (and most of the time the only person of colour), and one who’s donning a hijab to match your shoes, you can be quite hard to miss. I quickly realised that being a coloured Muslim woman in tech was a triple whammy.

Being ‘the only one’ can be daunting. There’s no clear path of who to look to and where to turn to for help. Even asking for help suddenly seems like a weakness. Although growing up I was always taught to put my hand up in class and ask questions, when it came down to it, I felt that asking questions meant that maybe I wasn’t ready to be where I was.

We often put pressure on ourselves to know everything and not ask for help. In school, we are taught to complete assignments and assessments alone, not to ask peers for help, and to know how to do everything alone. But almost a year after a great internship at Jigsaw that turned into a full-time role, I have come up with some tips for women aspiring for a role in tech.

  1. Don’t be afraid to be ‘a first’

We’re now seeing a rise in women entering technical roles, but chances are, you might find yourself one of a few or even the only one in your organisation. It can be daunting being the only woman in the room, and self-doubt always manages to find a way to creep in. But you got your seat at the table and you deserve to be there, so be confident in your abilities.

2. Don’t be afraid to ask for help (and ask lots of questions)

I have to remind myself to listen to my own advice. At the start of my internship, I held back from asking questions and seeking help at the risk of possibly being seen as a ‘burden’. But my journey has taught me that asking questions is not a sign of weakness. Instead, it builds strength. Don’t let self-doubt get in the way. Most often than not, people are happy to help, so take advantage of that and you will see your skills grow rapidly.

3. Find a good mentor

Taking your first steps into a technical role can be intimidating, but there’s no rule book that says you have to do it alone. Seek out people who will inspire you to be the best you can be. Mentors are great guides who can help with the growth of your skills and career.

4. Never stop learning

Always take advantage of new learning opportunities. Whether it’s extra training on the side or taking on projects that aren’t 100% in your comfort zone, there’s never a downside to taking the time to upskill.

5. Find work that means something to you

You’ll do your best work when you enjoy what you’re working on, so it’s important to be interested and believe in the work that you’re doing.

Supporting female colleagues

Finally, a note for men working alongside women in the tech industry. With the lack of female representation in technical roles, self-doubt can swoop in and quickly take over. It makes a huge difference when you meet others who are navigating the same journey as you, but when there aren’t any other women to meet, that’s when male allies need to step in!

Equality-supportive male allies can play a vital role in reducing feelings of lingering inadequacy and isolation. Instead, they can encourage feelings of support and respect, supporting women to be self-assured in their roles and thrive. Male allies can play a vital role in developing a truly inclusive workspace, which in turn will also help retain women in male-dominated fields. So, men in technical roles, if you see a woman navigating the waters, be an ally!

--

--