30f30 Update — Week 2

Friday

Jihan Donawa
Jihan Alexis
2 min readAug 2, 2016

--

I still haven’t caught my breath from such a kickass class I took today. I should probably be in the shower right now but I am just so stoked. This class, Spark Sculpt, is defined by Spark Yoga as “a power flow incorporating hand weights used to tone and strengthen all the muscles in the body while building endurance. This class is set to fun & energetic music to motivate and inspire!”

OH yeah, and the room is heated to 95 degrees.

Toward the end of class, the instructor asked us to bring our focus back to center and think about what we wanted. It took everything in me not to yell “AIR CONDITIONER”. Couldn’t be the new, loud, ethnic girl yet.

The instructor was insane but in a great, have to take her classes again, way. I am sure the class got up to 100 degrees and a bunch of people had to step out for a second to breathe. I made it through the whole thing AND even took the challenge moves. I thought about stepping out but then Missy’s “Pass that Dutch” came on and couldn’t do Missy like that.

I’m feeling really energized and optimistic today about my journey. Although I did have an issue with focusing. I just can’t get my brain to shut up for at least a class.

Guest pass

Travis accompanied me to class on Saturday. He did pretty well for it being his first yoga class ever, much less hot yoga. (Editor’s Note: No I didn’t)

Irish Hills

Sunday I decided to cancel class to go on hike instead. Travis promised Irish Hills would not be “treacherous” and it really wasn’t. The trail was steep in a sneaky way but enough to keep the heart rate up. We hiked, sometimes jogged, the full 3.15 miles and I practiced some moves. #Goals: Run a good chunk of it next time.

Working on my standing split
Eagle pose
14 years later and still got it
Upon the fields of barley. It’s not really.

--

--