It’s Like Riding a Bike

Jihan Donawa
Jihan Alexis
Published in
3 min readAug 5, 2016

I am not the least bit ashamed to admit that I forgot how to ride a bike. So that saying about it all coming back, it’s all coming back to me now (shout out to Celine) is completely a lie. Honestly, I’m not even sure that I was super comfortable on one when I was young. I remember having training wheels. I remember riding in the driveway. I also remember my parents buying us all bikes for Christmas when I was in high school and I think I may have been on it once. Probably just Christmas day.

In my four years in New York, I participated in Citibike 3 times and all within the last couple of months I lived there. The first time was with my bestie Katie. She purchased the Citibike pass and was super excited about being able to bike to work. We were going to hang out on a Friday night and I agreed to bike with her back to her apartment. Bike riding just seems so relaxing and fun. The wind in your face, zipping along at your own pace. It really seemed liked something I could be interested in. But I blame it on the heavy, tall bike. I’m only 5'2 and putting my feet on ground while on the seat was not possible. Also, steering is pretty tricky.

To make a long story short, what normally takes Katie 10 minutes took me 30. Yes, I get the irony of that sentence. There was a lot of braking for no reason (going “too fast” in my mind) and stops for fits of hysterical laughter. I laughed to keep from crying.

I tried again on the West Side Highway a couple of weeks later with my friend Chiara and then again with Travis when he came to visit. There were just so many professionals whizzing by on their thin bikes and it was very hard for me to guide my bike and look over my shoulders to make sure I don’t get in their way. Those things should come with side mirrors. I’d like to think that I have pretty good balance but let me tell you another lie - weebles wobble AND they do fall down. Ok, I didn’t fall but my life and headlines were constantly flashing before my eyes. “Girl who had no idea how to ride a bike horribly mangled in minor bike accident.”

San Luis Obispo is very bike friendly. The bike lanes are wider in many areas. There are dedicated bike paths to get you around town. The Pisces dreamer in me thinks I can do this. I picture myself hopping on my bike with my trusty helmet and riding downtown for brunch or to barre. I’m saving the world AND building up that booty! Also, if Kim K. can ride a bike, then I am definitely capable.

So one glazed donut and two glasses of wine in on a Saturday night at home, I took to the amazing internets determined to find a bike. Like two giant nerds, Travis and I sat next to each other on the couch with two computers and read reviews on about a dozen bikes. A lifelong sufferer of severe analysis paralysis, I fought through it and finally took a deep breath and clicked “checkout”. Estimated delivery — August 9 to 12.

Guess what?! Bike was delivered in two days. It is currently at the bike shop down the street being built. Get ready for many, many posts on my progress. Also, I’m really hoping to find a helmet like Ilana with a wig built in.

I just got a call while writing this that my bike is ready.

I will not be riding barefoot

--

--