More Sausages??

Jihan Donawa
Jihan Alexis
Published in
3 min readOct 24, 2016

Ok, it’s been awhile. A lot of exciting things have happened in September — including a trip to Munich and Rome.

As a meeting and event planner, we have our work cut out for us. It’s not all galas and fancy hotels. There can be a lot of late nights and crappy room service but if you change your perspective (thanks, yoga) you can see these as what my friends call #meetingplannerperks. Getting to travel to Europe definitely qualifies as one of those.

I left SLO at 6am and after 2 layovers, 4 movies (3 of them Disney), 3 airplane meals and maybe 4 hours of sleep, I arrived in Munich at 7am. West coast is not where it’s at for flight options. Munich was never necessarily on my bucket list, but I was still excited to explore in the limited time I had. What made this trip was that my mom was able to join me in her first trip to Europe.

Blurry picture of the BMW building as our driver really raced down the highway. “What is this?? The autobahn?”

Food

When I think of Bavarian cuisine, I know it is a lot of pork and veal, sauerkraut and potatoes. I am a self-proclaimed Ron Swanson and lover of all things meat but cetus lapetus, that’s a lot of sausage. My first dinner was an amazing wienerschnitzel at Augustiner Keller, which is absolutely huge. Highly recommend and maybe you can drink in the biergarten. It was too cold for us.

Had to get the wienerschnitzel at Augustiner Keller
Mommy vs fried pork knuckle (spoiler alert: Mommy won)

Exploring Munchen

St. Peter’s Cathedral
Talk about lawn maintenance
The Residenz Museum
Crown jewels at the Residenz Museum
1st Ancestry.com
That’a real skull. My thought is that if I’m haunted because I took this picture, you’re now haunted because you looked at my picture. We’re all in this together.

One last thing..

Münchners apparently LOVE Michael Jackson. When visiting Munich, Michael would stay in the Bayerischer Hof hotel (not the one where he dangled his child off the patio). Loyal fans have repurposed a statue of composer Orlande de Lassus in a small park in front of the hotel and apparently they constantly maintain it.

You are not alone
I am here with you. Though we’re far apart, you’re always…
In my heaaaaaaaaaaaaaart

--

--