Growing Nationalism: A Growing Concern and My Two Cents

My Two Cents | Jijo Johny
Jijo, The Observer
Published in
2 min readNov 25, 2023

The global trend towards nationalism is becoming increasingly evident. I would consider the recent events in Dublin as an example.

The Guardian

I think that political parties recognise nationalism as a potent tool — a ‘trump card’ for influencing public sentiment and winning elections. I think India set a good example, and in Italy and now that is happening in Holland! — These are just my observations and I understand that not everyone can agree with me

I am genuinely concerned because fuelling hate in human beings will only create a society that is founded on hate, deeply manipulated, where genuine care and compassion are overshadowed.

I feel a sense of responsibility to speak up when witnessing societal issues and to advocate more for peace and unity.

Throughout my life, I’ve been sensitive to these issues, believing that in a position of influence, I would have never allowed such divisions to occur.

Today, I’ve decided to speak and write about the issues I care about, shedding concerns about others’ perceptions. This is a commitment to let go of my past and to remain aware and mindful of my actions and feelings.

Photo by Volodymyr Hryshchenko on Unsplash

Working to improve life in care homes has given me a unique perspective. I’ve realised that the happiness and quality of life for the elderly depend significantly on those who care for them.

This insight has broadened my understanding: happiness and well-being have many forms, but they stem from a common root.

To cultivate such a society, we must learn to view people without division and embrace humanity as a whole.

I consider myself as someone who is a social activist and entrepreneur.

So, this is ‘Jijo, the Observer’. If you’re interested in my viewpoints on the societal issues that matter to us all, I invite you to follow and subscribe. Stay tuned for more observations and insights

--

--

My Two Cents | Jijo Johny
Jijo, The Observer

I’m Jijo, a start-up founder with a vision of improving the quality of human life. Being a proud father & husband, I’m here to impart My Two Cents to the world.