My Google APAC Women Techmakers Scholarship Experience

Jinal
Jinal Parikh
Published in
6 min readSep 23, 2017

Many people have been asking me about my Google WTM retreat event experience, which motivated me to complete this blog post. I hope this post inspires every woman who reads this to apply for this awesome opportunity and become role models for other women in tech.

What is it about ?

Through the Women Techmakers Scholars Program — formerly the Google Anita Borg Memorial Scholarship Program — Google is furthering Dr. Anita Borg’s vision of creating gender equality in the field of computer science by encouraging women to excel in computing and technology and become active leaders and role models in the field. This program consists of 3 elements: An academic scholarship awarded based on academic performance and leadership skills, the retreat (yayy! :D) and a Community which promises to support the global community of women in tech and collaborate on projects to make continued impact.

How did I apply?

The first question is: how did I come across this opportunity?

Two years back when one of my seniors had received this scholarship and I had seen her really tempting retreat pictures at Google office, that was when I made up my mind to apply for it! I realized I needed a stronger resume and more outreach activities to be done in order to display my leadership skills and passion. Keeping this dream alive (yes, of visiting the Google office :p), I worked in the planned direction for the next 2 years, utilizing every opportunity that came my way.

And, this summer (May 2017), I received a mail from Google Tech University Relations about applications being opened for this scholarship program. Application process involves answering some essay questions. These aim at showing your passion in computer science, difficulties you faced as a woman and things you have done so far to promote women in tech. I was too caught up with my Summer Internship (since it was the first week) and managed to take some time out in the nights to prepare the essays; finally submitted it! After that I almost forgot about it all.

Later, in July, I received an email saying I’ve been shortlisted for the interviews, scheduled a week later. I was so much involved in preparing for my conversion interview at my Internship, that it took me a while to figure out what exactly this was for. The first thing I did was to scream out with joy sitting at my work desk (my teammate staring at me obviously!) and call my mother giving her the news!

The Interview

I did some preparation a day before the interview since I didn’t have much time. I talked with my senior friend to know more about the interview process and she was super helpful. So, I re-read the essay answers that I had submitted, prepared a small talk on my outreach ideas, went through my resume and each project in detail. Also, I recollected the challenges faced with each of my projects, internships and team activities done and noted them down. Having a clear idea of what you’re going to say in the interview always helps, instead of saying random things in a haphazard manner.

The interview turned out to be quite different than what I had thought of. First I was asked about my technical projects, focusing more on how I had handled them, then about the outreach activities I had done to encourage more women in technology and finally about my ideas on the current representation of women in tech, and why is it so. The only trick to rock it is to be genuine. Since it is you who has done it, explaining it shouldn’t be much of a problem. It was more of a discussion and took around 45 minutes.

Retreat @ Google Seoul Office, South Korea !!

It was the night of 18th July when I received an email from the WTM Scholars Program Team, congratulating me for the selection. I rushed to my parents, bustling with joy and told them that I was one of the recipients of this scholarship from all over Asia-Pacific, and would get to go Seoul !!(my first foreign trip, all alone :D)

Our retreat was around August end, 2017. Google had made great arrangements for us and I was really impressed by the team’s organisational skills. First there was the allure of Seoul and then, our stay at the Grand Intercontinental Seoul Parnas, both were charismatic. Since we were assigned roommate from a different country, my roomie was from Japan.

The retreat kicked off with the welcome dinner on 29th August. We had delicious food (though, vegetarians got only salads), first of the chats with co-scholars and then the awesome karaoke! My table and I performed the classic “My Heart will go on” and we had lots of fun. :D

Next 3 days were packed with different kinds of sessions and we (the Googlers and us) followed a pre-planned agenda (with not even a minute of delay). Each day started with the breakfast at Google office and the Energiser, where we were taught some amazing K-pop moves. There were sessions on Open House discussions (where scholars shared their stories of success and tales of fails), bias busting, CS Unplugged (my fav one), former scholars panel, making outreach plans, learning about Google APAC projects and culture, Building Your Brand workshop, CodeJam Kickstart, Interview & Resume workshop and the last one — Seoul Searching, in which we did a scavenger hunt all around the Seoul! So, we had sessions planned in a way that brought us closer to the scholars and Googlers in our team.

It all ended with the closing talk by Dan, which was so inspirational and moving that it brought some of us to tears. I still remember his last words: “I am selfish and we want all of you back, some day!”

What I brought back

I had the best 3 days of my life! The retreat event provided me with a clearer road map for my future endeavors to empower more women in computing. For me, it was not about what I did there, it was more about whom I met there.

I bring back — tons of memories, inspiration, the joy of knowing these awesome people, new friends..and not to forget, “Google” goodies and I feel a lot more powerful ! This event gave me an opportunity to meet fellow scholars from different parts of the world — each with their own struggles, different technological backgrounds (it was overwhelming to meet women in research), impostor syndrome, yet united by the vision of fighting gender biases to help others realize their dreams. It was a privilege meeting a lot of Googlers from different offices, talking closely about their life journeys and learning from them.

Today I have my own support network consisting of enthusiastic Google engineers, mentors, inspiring co-scholars working in CS and former scholars from all over the world who constantly make me realize- that I’ve still a long way to go and a lot to learn and do, to succeed in my initiatives.

Final Thoughts

It’s not about getting a chance, it’s about taking a chance! So, if you’re a passionate woman with Anita Borg’s vision of including more women in tech and if you have your story of persistence, then go ahead and apply for this once in a lifetime opportunity :)

The swags !!
The one with Google!

P.S : I know that all we scholars are gonna say “Kimchi” instead of “Cheese” while posing for a pic, in memory of the time spent at Soulful Seoul ❤️

--

--

Jinal
Jinal Parikh

SWE @ Google | Google WTM Scholar | Ex Goldman Sachs | Ex Morgan Stanley | loves to paint