Sugar (Diluted Youth) [poem]

Liam Back
Jinsei 人生
Published in
3 min readJul 10, 2022

A Poem about knowing your place in this sugar
intoxicated society. Happiness is a piece of cake.

You only swear by what you see.
Because what you feel,
comes with a pack of beliefs.
Wrapped around the roots so tight,
of your emotional tree.

We’ve all signed in, to log back out.
Well, narcissistically.
But if you want to, we can stick around, smoke weed
and then like each others “lack of self-esteem“.
Microscopically, we're consuming,
just like the rest would be. Sardonically.
The rest of me, is divided into my salary.

Making no exceptions, just like edible food,
invented from an internet youth.
You can pick and chose, win or lose,
abuse or just dilute the truth.

I'd rather wank off in a sock,
than spend my days confronting family issues.
Turn the clock, then go back in time.
Like; Oi, mate.. Here's a fucking tissue.

Central vision by the life I led, i felt fake.
No pain, no gain, no strain,
no accomplishments and no cake.
Question my hesitation,
now i’ve got to maintain that mask upon my face.

Because i’m nowhere, where i’m supposed to be.
I think i’m about three years fucking late.
So whats the crime in taking some time,
to swerve around inside my lane.
Just give me some space, without frames.
Thats the price i’m willing to pay.

This time i cut the chords,
now i'm trying to avoid an awful fall.
I don’t settle for less, not worth the stress,
because the best is yet to form.
I'm Sure, with a capital “S”.
But don’t be Swiped, by the minimal checks.
When in a loop, don't get cooped, wake up,
loosen it up too, then oblige to disrespect.

Inhale, exhale, those hashtags,
with white sheets on black sheep.
Let me skip this elementary,
by going back to “REM” Sleep.

I watered you, then distorted you, tonight.
I diluted it, i altered it, alright?
Now i will be rummaging, rushing in, punishing you.
Because i’m shoving in, cussing in, coming in two’s.

Now your slaughter did what karma did, tonight.
I watered you, i saw to you, alright?
Because i’m rummaging, rushing in, punishing you.
Now i will be scrubbing in, rushing in, coming at you.

To be honest i don't really care about what u know.
Because you don't know half as much as you own.
My mentality shifted, ever since i took out that loan.
I wanted to give you the gift of the gab,
just to give back how much i've grown.
Instead i'm wanting things, i never had.
You know them things already a dozen times cloned.

Set the date, just don’t bake the cake. Too late.
Estimate your fate and make it great, ok?
Is that the tropical, all up in your game?
Now they are calling us names,
by the goals that you started to aim.

Don't give them too much of your fire.
Just deny the fact, that you are turning insane.
There's no need to get paid or even laid,
In reptilian caves, i'm afraid. We're slaves.
But hey, controlled by more than fifty shades of Greys.

To be honest, i’m just a little too scared,
to give all of this up for another type of life.
A past taken from another unknown being's highs.

Just like mechanical instincts, that like to
wind up and play around with time.
Makes us glide through the bright lights
of what our inner dark dreams might find.

Invisible & blind of the signs, like a criminal mind.
Too late now, we’ve all signed that dotted line,
so stop picking out them chunks, from the pie of lies.

Indulge into bitter sweetness, that sugar (oh my)
It's a piece of cake, to walk and talk between the lines.
However, i’ve become intolerant of hope, this time.
Go ahead take this slice, it once was mine.
Trust me, it tastes of bliss, just try it, it’s fine.

I write daily/weekly poems and music reviews.
If you have enjoyed what you've read so far,
take a stroll through my list's of other work.
I would also really appreciate a follow on here.
This kind of “low-key“ boosts my motivation :)
Nevertheless, thank you for your support. Liam Back

--

--