Virtual Mind Games [poem]

Liam Back
Jinsei 人生
Published in
2 min readJul 15, 2022

A Poem about a partner turning gambit hero.

Iv’e hollowed out my thoughts,
indulged into all of what i saw.
So delicate, it’s crumbling into pieces,
breaking down yet i'm stalling our fall.

Inhaling toxins, which we kept hidden
from a far, just to make us both feel alive.
Yes, it made us look further into our minds, deep inside.
Possibly be possible, if it weren’t for you and i

I’m so ashamed to say, that i bought a quarter of a mile
Yes, iv'e payed my way through the hall of burning
conflicts and inner casualties of mine.
Upgraded our Avatars and gallons of water online.
But why do I suddenly feel that it could be
my fault for leaving us dry?
Did you use up every single trick
in the book that you could find?

Just throw away the board-game coop.
That last pawn, minus the distorted pain
This time next summer, we won’t have time for games
I heard you played the same cards, that i once used
Head-set, poker face, innocence, oblivious of the truth.
You’ve repeated it a dozen of times,
So that your lies became the truth.
Now tell me, who’s controling who?

Ok, I see. Well, just do what a
checkerboard-hero has to do.
And so i guess our raid, our covenant,
our virtual futures.. Glitch. We're through.

If you have enjoyed what you’ve read so far,
take a stroll through my other work.
for daily/weekly poems and music reviews.
I would also really appreciate a follow on Medium.
Thank you for your support. Liam Back

--

--