Walls Inside My Head [poem]

Liam Back
Jinsei 人生
Published in
2 min readSep 29, 2022

A Poem about one's own worst enemy.

I don’t want to take away your reality,
nor your god or your perception of human rights.

I’m just having a hard time believing,
that we could ever want to come back
to this superficial plane again,
never mind about living it twice.

Can I just take your mind a little higher,
than the threshold of weed,
more like to a place of relativity?

Go ahead, take a deep look
inside of my anatomy.
Is there still a little reminiscence
of the devil inside of me?

Spreading like a fatal disease,
all over my thoughts,
just like that of radioastronomy?

Let me demonstrate,
without the rocketry.

More like particles
pulsating through a brain,
you get me?
Random sample test, lobotomy?

I developed that plot,
a defense mechanism.

Probably another phase,
aka Harvey, two-face.

Call it what you like,
I can’t recall where i’m from.

My ancestors, my tribe,
don’t even know my birth place.

But somehow i got to write this script,
so is this my scene?

My motion picture of life
and everything else in-between.

Falling a dozen times
and grazing my knees,
in order to get back up,
just to fall onto my feet.

I’ve never believed in myself
more than i do now,
So why are these walls caving in,
still holding me down?

Well, that’s what happens, here on earth,
when you blink and let others intervene.

But stay focused here,
because I still need to pay the rent.
I’m not saying your gullible,
handing stuff out to the innocent.

We can’t rewind time,
so sands we shall reverse.
Yes, goals are hard to touch,
in a world of disperse.

But was it not an idea,
that grew as young as an infant?
Memories gone.
Just like that, in an instant.

Flowers of beauty,
yet symmetrically distant,
perished from a far.
That outlandish utopia,
nonexistent.

The state of euphoric thrills,
but to you feel outrageous.

Don’t worry about the bills,
i’ll pay you back,
once i’m rich and famous.

Spend now, they say
and cry about it later.
Just work now then prey,
so we can play it wiser.

I’d rather pick up
the candy painted plastic bricks,
to get to the other side of
that delicate part of my mind.

Heads up and arise,
commercially banned,
Instructions aside.

By the time i’m twenty five,
they’ll call the results mine.

So for once in my life,
i can finally say that iv’e built something right.

Follow me on here for weekly posts.
Or take a stroll through my other list’s:
Poems & Vinyl Reviews.
Thank you for your support. Liam Back

--

--