How 4 Days Can be Truly Life-Changing

The story of my journey to the Australian Olympic Change-Maker Summit in Canberra.

James Johnson
JJ Blogs — Travel
5 min readDec 11, 2022

--

There are moments in everybody's life when they wish that something will never end.

For some, it’s when their favourite sporting team triumphs. For others, it’s more personal. In my case, it was a mix of the two.

Almost 4 months ago, I conducted an interview at my school that would change my life. An interview about adversity, obstacles, and overcoming them. I didn’t think my role in it was particularly special. But just days later, I found myself nominated for an incredible opportunity. Albeit, an opportunity that I had never heard of.

Interviewing Madison Heady, an award-winning and deeply-inspiring para-athlete. My role in this was recognized with a nomination to attend the Change-Maker Summit in Canberra. Photo courtesy of All Saints’ College

That nomination was to attend the Australian Olympic Change-Maker Summit in Canberra. A summit recognizing the top young leaders throughout Australia. Leaders, according to the Australian Olympic Committee “who demonstrate the Olympic Spirit”. Who “use sport as a vehicle to improve health & wellbeing.” Leaders who “drive social change in their school or local community.” All I had to do to make good with this nomination, was film a 1 minute video.

And that I did…

…on the very last day before the deadline.

If I’m being completely honest, at the time, I didn’t really think I deserved the nomination. Yeah I had organised sporting events and fundraisers. Yeah I had carried my energy and passion into everything I did. But had I driven social change in my community? I was a Sports Captain and Junior Tennis Coach. But I didn't think so.

Eager to prove myself wrong, I dedicated the next month towards getting the most out of myself. Facing an intense and stressful exam block, I dedicated my free-time towards organising opportunities for others. Even if they seemed crazy, I worked on them. I had only 2 months left in my High School Journey. Why live with regret? So I put my head down and organised a barrage of sporting events.

First cab off the rank was a Staff v Students Match. Then a 1v1 Tournament and 3-Point Contest. A few quizzes about upcoming sporting events. And finally a send-off dodgeball match for my entire cohort. Amongst that all, I hosted and competed in a Senior School Talent Contest. Organising these events and balancing them with my study and work commitments made me feel like a ‘True Leader’. Like I embodied the Olympic Spirit. I felt like I had now actually made a difference. But this was all after my application. It was too late. Surely I wouldn’t make it?

Running the Year 12 Send-Off Dodgeball Competition, the last of my barrage of late initiatives at my High School on our Cohort’s final full day of school. Photo courtesy of the Author.

Yet in the early days of November, I did.

After cooking chicken burritos for my family (crazy enough in itself because I never, EVER cook) I stumbled across an email from the Australian Olympic Team. Expecting to be let down gently, you can imagine the scenes when I saw the word, “Congratulations” at the top of the email. I couldn’t believe it. Me, James Johnson had been selected from 1000+ nominations around Australia.

A snippet of the Congratulation Letter from the Australian Olympic Committee. Photo courtesy of the Author.

After briefly celebrating my acceptance to this prestigious program with a little dance, I immediately put myself back to work. Eager not to get ahead of myself, I ran one of the most intense 4km runs I have ever run. And then with 6 school exams ahead of me, I dived deep into study.

Fast forward 4 weeks and it was time to meet my fellow Change-Makers.

A virtual call. 5 days out from the ‘big day’. I was keen to make a good first impression. And I think that’s exactly what I did.

Eager to show off my energy, passion, and love for sport, I began my introduction with some banter and recognition of the Socceroos. Fresh off beating Denmark in a 1–0 thriller less than 12 hours earlier, the stars had aligned. And then, in a move which would define the trip, I asked if I could document the experience with a YouTube video. Now this my friends, was where the magic happened.

All that stood between me and Canberra now was 4 days.

4 days before my life would change forever.

I won’t go into too much detail about what happened during the Summit. I’ve got a YouTube video coming out soon for that. But what ensued in the next few days was truly life changing.

To be completely honest, in the days leading up to it, I wasn’t overly excited about the Summit. I was definitely looking forward to it. But I’m the type of person that goes into everything with an open-mind and an open-heart. I never get too carried away. I never get complacent. I try to live in the moment and just let things play out. And I believe that open-minded approach allowed me to live this experience to the fullest.

Before I finish, and as a teaser for my YouTube vlog, I’d like to share with you an excerpt of what I wrote as I sat on the plane, reflecting on my extraordinary experience in Canberra.

It goes as follows…

“It was only when I was sitting on the plane by myself, after saying my final goodbyes, that I realised I wasn't just leaving behind friends, I was leaving behind family.

I truly love you’s all.”

Living it up with the other Change-Makers on Day 2 of the Summit. Photo courtesy of the Author

Let this be evidence of the incredible connections, and friendships you can make when you push yourself outside of your comfort zone. That good things will eventually come when you work hard for what you want. When you don’t let anything, or anyone get in your way.

I encourage you to share your own incredible journeys below!

And keep an eye out for the YouTube video. It’ll be my first video, so subscribing to support me would be greatly appreciated!

--

--

James Johnson
JJ Blogs — Travel

1x Top Writer - Student | Swim Instructor | Tennis Coach | Sports & Travel Blogger https://linktr.ee/james.jjohnson