From Nordkapp towards Alta: Hitchhiking with Spanish Mate

JK
jkbaseer
Published in
4 min readJan 12, 2019

After the Chinese family had dropped me in the Honningsvag city, I have started to look for a nearby place to stay. The wind continued flowing fast and it’s very cold. So I covered myself as much as I can and started looking for a hotel. Everything was costly except one place which was like 50+ Euro if I remember correctly. I was a bit hesitant and I had a hope that I should find an alternative. Yet I called them if they have any special rooms which just have bed space and the answer is no. At one point I decided to walk towards that hotel with one more alternative plan. The highway is just behind that hotel and so I plan to try hitchhiking possibilities until the late night. Remember the daylight is still available until 9–10 pm because of the latitude of that location. So I waited on that highway keep waving my hand for a hitch..,

I felt tired and at the same time don’t feel like spending money for the hotel as well. I just crossed the other side of the highway and climbed the small hill whether to find that place is safe for tent :) ⛺️ That was a good decision, the place was super cool with rocks on either side which could protect my tent from the wind. I came back took my stuff and claimed again and put my tent with the extra effort of fighting with wind while making the tent.

When I went inside my tent and laid my back, I felt so relaxed after the long day of trying hitchhiking to reach Alta :)

I wake up with good next sleep the next day wondering how am going to reach Alta. One option is to take the bus and the bus will be coming on 10.30AM and another one on 11.30AM. I almost gave up of hitchhiking and decided to spend money on the traditional way 😀. With my bit of laziness on the nice Cold weather moving slowly, I almost about to miss the bus. I reached the bus stop after the short walk. I kept waving my hand for a hitchhiking in case if there is a bit of luck but nothing happened and the bus came. I put my luggage inside the bus and asked him how much, I was shocked to hear 300 kroner and I told him politely “sorry I might need to step down” and then he smiled :)

Seriously I don’t want to pay that for a 2–4hours ride. And the man from Spain stooped the mini home car for me with a smile :) :) his name is Carlos. He has been traveling across Norway and Sweden for a while. So if want to go Sweden, I can just go with him on the long ride but my flight is from Alta :)

We get to know each other and then the interesting conversation started about understanding the culture and also getting the answers for my long list of question I always have 😄

Culture is something which I never stop to wonder or curious about it. We spoke about the culture of Norweign, Swedish, Finnish, Spanish and German. Especially Spanish/Italians people share few similar traits with Asian in terms of emotional feeling (That’s my understanding so far). Some of the questions I always wanted to ask are things like straight forward talk vs indirect, flexible work culture vs strict work culture, work-life balances, pressurized mind vs relaxed mind for innovation. One thing from the conversation I realize after speaking with people across different culture is when people have the flexibility, they are motivated. That’s the motivation could lead you to creativity and productivity.

He has been trying to explain what is his profession, he kept pronouncing the word “circus” in different ways and I struggle to get what’s it mean Or maybe it’s just me didn’t get it :)

After connecting with his Facebook profile, I got a clear understanding of what these guys are doing. Basically, it’s the same what we have in India as well where the artist has their own vehicle with all the stuff they need and they keep moving to different location conducting their shows. IT’S THE SAME CIRCUS 😃

CIRCUS I LOVE YOU < HIS COMPANY

After NordKapp, I decided that can put a full stop to the hitchhiking and go to Alta by the fastest way possible and take res but the conversation with Carlos and the hitchhiking was a wonderful trip which I didn’t expect which kept this habit continuing.

--

--

JK
jkbaseer

I help myself and companies to grow in Digital world through digital marketing, digital transformation initiatives, product management. Traveled 15% of 🌏