Hiking Trip with the 2 Kids from Portland, Oregon

JK
jkbaseer
Published in
4 min readJan 5, 2019
The family while they are doing some baby care stuff :)

I supposed to be hiking the hardest part of the mountain in Romsdalen Valley. The hardest part is called as Ridge walk.

I was standing at the base camp like 10 Am to start my hike… According to the advisory board, it takes 5–8hours to finish. And my goal is to finish as early as possible and so I could get the night train to another place. While I was doing some stretch, I saw this family(they were the only FAMILY with kids! Others are just youngsters) getting ready for the hike as well. I kept wondering whether this kid could really make it or they would do a short one.

Then we started our conversation while figuring out the route. And I told to them that I would join with them to help BECAUSE it’s not 2 kids but 2 more kids(almost 1year) at the baby carrier in their front 😮

So totally 4 kids… We started our hike. I kept listening to the stories from Brad((can’t spell correctly), pink head cap and Vienna (elder one)

At one of the target milestone. Norway

Both of them are very energetic and smart… Especially Brad doesn’t seem to fear (you can assume it could be because of her age) but it’s an admiring thing. They kept moving fast, didn’t wait for us.

Don’t assume the mountain is an easy one to hike, it’s really a difficult and they are able to do! because they have been doing it from their early years of life…

While we reach the hardest part of the ridge, her mom asks her to hold any of our hand for safety reasons. She chose me 😊, we kept walking and sometimes she doesn’t want to hold anyone hand because she wants to move fast. And also question how come Vienna is not been asked to do that. At the end of the trip, she said she will stay with JK :D (That was a good review)

She and her sister spoke about different topics like books, movie, politics (Vienna knows about Trump and a famous judge who speak about Women Rights) and many others. I was very impressed at the amount of exposure they have in this age. It’s not normal though but different to me. Every topic they speak, there was some useful insights.

Here is an important thing….

While she was asking about movies, I replied that have watched only a few movies like Nemo / Toy Story and told her “I don’t honestly watch a lot of movies but I read books”

Then she replied “OH YEAH, I read a lot of huge books too. If I start to read, my nose will be on the book and when I get bored sometimes I read it again”

The book name she shared are fiction based and I replied with my turn telling that I don’t really read fictions but a lot of biographies and those related…. THEN SHE REPLIED “Actually at my age, I don’t need to read those and can read later. It’s for people like you and dad. For now, I like more imaginary and dramatic”. I was bit shocked where even know what she needs to read right now or maybe someone told her :)

whenever I get admired about this kids, I try to think back what i was doing in my freaking my childhood days 😀

Am not sure, do really kids have this exposure to tell what they need and what they don’t in terms of books?

Time to think…

When we started, this is how it looked at the low land.
The beautiful view at the peak :)

Location: Romdsdalegan, Norway

--

--

JK
jkbaseer

I help myself and companies to grow in Digital world through digital marketing, digital transformation initiatives, product management. Traveled 15% of 🌏