HitchHiking with military men and camping for the first time

JK
jkbaseer
Published in
3 min readJan 8, 2019

The hope in Mankind and the one who created them NEVER LET ME TO FEAR OF anything. That kept us to walk in the adventurous path no matter how difficult or fearsome. It was very late like 11.30pm or 12pm, I started to walk from Andelson station to the camping area.

My plan is to stay in the station(as my train came on 10pm), sleep there and go to comping area on the morning because it’s too late and not worth of money. Anyway, they would close the door, So I end up walking.

While I was walking in the wrong direction near the station, there was a military van which was doing the night patrol. I didn’t see that actually. I heard someone called me. I approach them and he started asking about the details where am moving. I told them the details of camping and he replied that place is opposite direction!

Oh, so I planned to change the route. He asked me whether am sure to walk by foot because it’s like 3km and also it’s raining. I said yes and that's the only way. He ran back to his another officer and came back with the Jeep. (Russian Jeep)

That was a surprise. So I put my backpack on the back and trying to enter. He replied, “no you can sit at the front”

Wah, that’s a more comfortable one. I nodded yes…

He started with the car by saying “This is a very old machine but bit powerful”

Hahaha, we start the ride and he was sharing in overall why they are patrolling there and details and dropped me off in the camping area.

That’s the first HitchHike in Norway 🇳🇴 :) ( It came to me though 😍)

It was a fun night because I never did tent camping in my life before. My ignorance is there won’t be anything in the bottom(meaning the ground zero layer where we sleep) of the tent, so I waited for the rain to stop, so I could fit and so there won’t be any water. BUT I started watching on youtube how to make the tent. There I learned I don’t need anything even if it’s raining. and I started preparing the tent on the reception area itself(without sticking it) and then just carried away with my hand to the grass field. It was awesome experience of learning how to make the tent ⛺️ and when I went to sleep, I felt so satisfied even though it’s like 4.30AM!

When i wake up on that morning, this is what i saw. I just told to myself “The best decision i ever made is visiting Norway :)”
The LIVING place of people
While walking along the river, Imagine a morning walk or evening walk along your home.

--

--

JK
jkbaseer

I help myself and companies to grow in Digital world through digital marketing, digital transformation initiatives, product management. Traveled 15% of 🌏