“MAAMEY” from Mexican! and Sami people

JK
jkbaseer
Published in
4 min readJan 6, 2019
I couldn’t find the family pic i took with them but this one. (Location: NordKapp, Norway)

He called me Maamey after I said am from India. I assumed he had Indian friends and so he knows the word.

That word automatically increased the synergy on how we both speak each other because of its sort of buddy in my local language. so become friends easily. We kept having a lot of talks about different topics (his journalist life, how he met a norweign women 😉and married her, the ethical life he is having with humanity in belief even though he doesn’t follow any religion etc)

In the end, I was asking how do you know this word. Oh, we shortened the word “my man” into “mamey” he replied. (me: OHH 😄)

Anyway, his name is “Jose Luis Marroquin” from Mexico, been as a journalist for 17years been focused on different wars and conflicts around the world. Currently, he started his own digital newspaper which focuses on indigenous people of the different country (for example Sami people in Norway and indigenous people in Sahara desert, indigenous people in mexica and all related stuff. You can read about in his blog. I wish him a good life.

Sami People

As a foreigner, it was the first time for me to be aware of the problems of sami people. Am under the impression that countries in europe or especially Scandinavian countries have a good record of equal rights to everyone. He doesn’t share in full details of any problems they are facing but he does share pointers where people are promised to receive special rights due to their indigenous in nature and owner of the land in past but according to their leader, they are not receiving enough things according to the promised agreements. It’s interesting Jose went to meet their leader and interviewed him and their people. They camped there to understand their life and even saw northern lights :)

If you are wondering what Sami people does for their life, they have lot of rendezvous (in 1000s), so my travel friend Mikkeal also owns in thousands and they make money from that business.

Image belongs to my friend Mikkeal, Sami people i met while hitchhiking

One important point I came to realize when I about to my tent ⛺️, he shared “I have been camping for 17years and it’s over bro”. Journalist people are one of the best professions where they need to risk and sacrifice a lot of comfort in their life For what? to work for the people like you and me.

His meaningful profession is something to be respected and appreciated.

And he is currently traveling with his son(Guess same age as me) in Norway 👌👌it was like Friend gang how they have behaved each other. Quite a few times I see Son and dad is traveling together on a trip.

And if I go Mexico next year, I should be able to meet him.

The photo he sent to me while he was inviting me to his place on FB

– / this is what I wrote until that day but I met them again :) and had a beautiful time with them

How? I asked them where are they and how they have been doing while I was leaving from Honningsvag to Alta. They replied they are in Alta and offered me to stay at reservation they had in a campaign place. That was another interesting story how I reached Alta :)

and in return, I made sure I do something by prepared potatoes fry, shrimp, Tamil Nadu ginger tea 🍵 😁

That’s the backyard of the camping place we stayed.
The camping place

I still remember the full of smile they had in their face every time they speak with me. They would have had a lot of troubles in their life but their face doesn’t show when they spoke with me. Maybe they already aware things are contagious and so they should spread something good :)

It was a good time with them and I will be thankful for the moments they provided at my time there! Whenever you are guys > when you come to Malaysia and India, I will be there for you guys.

So the river running along our camping place. This is another side I came to spend time. Writing and thinking about few things.

--

--

JK
jkbaseer

I help myself and companies to grow in Digital world through digital marketing, digital transformation initiatives, product management. Traveled 15% of 🌏