Internet Challenges

Eric b
JMS 215 Social Media Storytelling
1 min readSep 15, 2020

I personally have never partaked in any sort of internet challenge but I think they have progressed over the years. It started off as a harmless way to get people involved or talking about issues such as the ALS Ice Bucket challenge. It was a fun little way to get people talking about ALS and showing awarness towards it with usually no harm done to the participant. It has since turned into weird challenged that cause harm to the person or extremly insinstive. When I first saw the “Holocaust Challenge” I thought it was a joke, when I did some more research I realised it was an actual thing and was disgusted. The kids doing the challenge say its for awarness to the victims and all that and I dont believe it for a second. Its just a weird thing to do and have a challenge for. Unlike the ice bucket challenge what is this new challenge even doing for awarness or positivity. It doesn’t show any remorse to the victims or anything positive. Its just disgusting behavior done by kids who aren’t aware of history or how tragic it was for jews at that time. I personally don’t like these new challenges that are extremly insinsitve or downright dangerous like the benadryl challenge.

--

--