My Story Pitch

Rebeccamolenaar
JMS 215 Social Media Storytelling
2 min readSep 27, 2020

Once COVID came, it threw the foster care system into crisis since Colorado was already facing a foster care crisis. There are not enough foster parents that are available to provide a safe home and bed for the youth that are in need. A lot of children rely on adults to protect them and to keep them safe. Covid-19 has been bringing in the need for family support. Even though life has stopped for you because of COVID the trauma, abuse, and neglect doesn’t stop for these kids. The youth here are vulnerable. Families have had to stop providing care because of illness or financial situations. Many foster families have overcome different hurdles and this time can be demanding for them. Foster families are having trouble finding a balance between everything that they have to do. I am sharing this because I am passionate about this topic and wanted to bring awareness to it and my goal is to not get likes but to hopefully get more people to help out. There are two people that I could speak with about this topic and that will require an interview. I am going to speak to two people who know more about this. One of them is one of the students from this class boss who has been trying to get a foster kid and the other person is a family friend who works with foster kids. I am going to reach out to them both and plan a zoom meeting with them both to learn more. Before that, I am going to look and see if there are any news reports or blogs about this. I am going to execute this through Facebook since Facebook is very community-based and can get this story out to people. I do not know how exactly I am going to tell this story quite yet.

--

--