Post 10

Brianna Diamond
JMS 215 Social Media Storytelling
2 min readNov 1, 2020

I definitely agree that hate speech should not be allowed on any social media platform about any topic. Any form of hate speech is unacceptable and yes, freedom of speech is real and a thing. However, if there is speech that is formed to spew hate to purposely hurt someone, a group of people or an organization, then no it is not acceptable.

One thing that I do not necessarily believe should be banned or censored is human bodies, especially posts in connection with body positivity. If someone is comfortable enough to post a nearly nude or fully nude photo, then they should be able to! Go them! I personally am not comfortable doing that in my skin, however, whenever I see a nearly nude photo on my social media, I am not freaked out or offended. If I do not want to see that type of thing, then I would simply unfollow. It’s truly that simple. I simply see someone’s body that they love and show reasons why they love it. I remember being in middle school so ashamed of what I looked like, but now with the normalcy of body parts being shown more on social media having more skin, bumps, lumps, and stretch marks, I am more comfortable in my own body. Also, I may have purposely followed that person due to their confidence and the way they express themselves through social media, so I somewhat expect it. But if I ever get tired of seeing their posts or get bored, I unfollow, and others should too if they don’t agree. Also, I don’t think the posts should be dirty or considered extremely inappropriate. If it is just an art photo of a model, it should be allowed. However, I do draw the line when it comes to young children, especially very public pages. I do believe that young children's bodies should be censored just because they are not in control of what is being posted and unfortunately, there are some very bad people in the world and should not be able to access that type of thing easily. Ever. Every sensitive body part should be fully covered and not exposed.

I am not exactly sure how social media knows that controversial things get posted, and I think most of it happens when a post is reported by a viewer. But, I have always thought that when someone signs up on Instagram, for example, and plans on posting controversial things on social media, such as nearly nude photos, controversial political posts, or anything else remotely considered controversial, they should check off a box that says they plan on posting controversial things on their page. Then when someone goes to follow them, they get an alert that says this person posts body positivity and that may include nude photos, is that okay? Then that follower is not surprised or can report the post because they were warned and they knew that type of thing would be posted.

--

--