POST 12

I personally think it could be some government over reach. It was funny to me hearing that Trump wanted to ban the use of TikTok because of government interference and yet, there was all of this talk about him being involved with Russia. I understand the willpower to want control over your own country and its apps, but I don’t think that it is necessary to ban the entire app. I am not sure what another solution could be for the problem, but just buy out the app. If the entire ordeal is about control and the government not being able to “watch” us at all times, and yet, there are times when I mention something and then there is an ad about what I mentioned.

I think there is legitimacy to the idea of them having control over the apps. I think it is important because TikTok has been, from what I hear, is using facial recognition to find people. I think in this case, it is not government overreach and could be a legitimate threat. I think it is super important for our government to protect tis people, but, I think with the way that media works, it could be hard to necessarily block outside sources from “getting in.” I think ultimately everything ends up being political. It is important to remove potential for blackmail but we are such a capitalist world, that banning the app just removes potential for capitalism, so the US should just buy it out, instead of banning it.

--

--