Post 8

Apiuock Ajing
Oct 18, 2020

--

The article on Beachie Creek Fire was heartbreaking. It puts me in a perspective of how we tend to take things for granted. Chris Tofte was desperately looking for his family. But once he came across his wife, he was unable to recognize her. Almost immediately, he rushed to get medical attention for her. Unfortunately, he was not able to find his son in this event. This tragedy opened my world view. The unfortunate event gave me the realization that I have a perfect life compared to others. I feel like most people tend to forget how great their life is especially living in America. We tend to complain about school or family drama. But not realizing that most people across the world don’t get half the opportunities America receives. Nobody deserves any harm in their life. Angela’s story was very emotional. She barely excavated the fire and lost her mother on the way to survival. Angela nearly lost her mother and her son on the same day. I could not imagine the heartbreak she went through. Reading this story, I felt a lot of emotions. I felt stressed, sad, and flustered. I could not imagine the pain the family went through. Or even other families around the world. You never realize how much of a privilege your life is until you start reading other people’s stories.

--

--