Social Media Grade

Boostlikes: Instagram vs Twitter

Overall, I believe social media did the best it could to handle misinformation about the election. Twitter certainly made significant effort to censor false information. At one point yesterday I checked Trump’s Twitter, and most of the tweets on his page were blocked out for being misleading. It is important for people to identify when the information they are receiving is false, especially when that information is coming from sources that should be trusted. I also thought that Instagram had done an adequate job managing election misinformation. Instagram is putting a banner on any posts concerning the election with links to official and accurate information. I would give both Instagram and Twitter a B. I think they did well, all things considered, but there should have been a better system to monitor misinformation.

--

--