Update On My Story

Rebeccamolenaar
JMS 215 Social Media Storytelling
3 min readOct 11, 2020

So, for my story, I am going to change it a little and I am not going to focus on the children. I am going to focus on the parents and how it is to get a house ready and to be prepared to have a child during COVID. Since there might some things that are private, I do not think that I will be able to include that information. Since there are not a lot of houses that are opening up for them. My original plan was to interview the families and how they are dealing with COVID or handling it. Even though there are not enough households to foster children. The more I think about it, I think that there might be too private to talk about or get photos of. Now that I think of it, for photos, I may try to find an agency that has photos of what a household should look like and get pictures from this one student's boss of their house and see what it is like.

For the produced story, I am thinking of using Facebook but to have a back up I may use youtube just in case something doesn’t work out. The next element I think I will use a Facebook live or a youtube live. I am not sure about the experimental platform which may be Tik Tok but I highly doubt that is the audience I want to but if that doesn’t work then I will focus on a different experimental one. I am not sure how this will be used but I have seen TikToks that have bits of information about a topic but I think it will have to use creativity and probably a record of the video talk that I have with the two people. To be honest, I had to ask my roommate what a twitter strategy is since I do not have a twitter account and I am still confused about what this is but I am going to roll with it.

My game plan is for next week to do more research but it is hard to find information on this topic since it is happening right now. I might look into the foster care in Colorado and see what COVID is doing specifically. Then either next week or the following I am going to reach out to the two people that I plan to talk to about this topic to learn more about this and have questions when I talk to them. Then ask when they are available to talk more in-depth about this topic then do that talk with them. Then after that, I will try to piece together the information for the final product and use Facebook or Instagram or youtube for it. Lastly, I will try to be creative about the Tik Tok or known as the experimental platform by using it as a piece of information with some facts about what is going on.

There has not been a lot of research on this topic since it is prevalent now. The National Foster Parent Association has been trying its best to work with the foster parents. The medium post by Dr. John DeGarmo talks about the National Foster Parent Association and I think that may be a resource to use for this. Along with that, he put a video on there and I am planning on listening to that video and may see if I can use that for my topic or find other videos like that. This is really the only post or thing that I have seen that I can use so far for background information about this topic but I think I need to look further or expand.

--

--