Weekly Post 12

Brianna Diamond
JMS 215 Social Media Storytelling
2 min readNov 18, 2020

For months there has been talk about President Trump taking down the famous app TikTok due to security breach measures. Do not get me wrong, I understand the seriousness of security breaches in the United States, especially if the government has reasons to be worried, then yes action should be taken. However, this is been ongoing for a few months and not too much has been done. Now, there is a threat for the government to use ISP’s to block the apps use if the app did not voluntarily leave the app store. I am not a tech person by any means, however, I am sure there is more information that needs to be given for the app to be voluntarily taken down, and then possibly start another app or make a compromise with another company or the government. It seems to be even the people at TikTok are just as confused. I am not sure how China can use TikTok as a security breacher, but if it was a very serious situation and a legitimate threat, I think that the app would have been taken down by now without having to go through all these obstacles. The whole thing is a little fishy to me because if the secretary issue was very serious, everything would have been taken care of months ago when things started to pop up in the media. Instead, there is a solution by having the app be partnered with Walmart or Oracle, which is weird that if there are security issues, then how would Walmart help? There is also word that Facebook does the same thing, or also is used to hack into an account and gain information, however, there is not much hoopla about taking down Facebook now as much as there is to take down TikTok. I am not a conspiracy theorist who does not trust the government, however, I think this situation is very odd to me and I don’t believe that there is enough information or proof for the app to be taken down.

--

--