Weekly post 4

Quinn Hodge
JMS 215 Social Media Storytelling
2 min readSep 18, 2020

I LOVE PAUL RUDD, and I love youtube. I think that as a college age person, I grew up with Paul Rudd in my media. Definitely not as much as the people who are a little older than me, but I watched him in “Clueless” when I was younger and now that I am getting older, I have loved him as Antman for Marvel and I binged “Living With Yourself” on Netflix just because Paul Rudd played two characters at once. Finding someone who is so lovable and unproblematic to promote mask wearing is so perfect to me. His video was a cute, charming PSA that was trying so hard (in a comedic way) to be relatable.

The fact that the video was put on youtube didn’t really change the message at all to me. I think that youtube is a site that will not lose it audience and its charm as time goes on. It’s not like TikTok where it goes through trends. While the site has tried to add things like YouTube Red and YouTube Music, I strongly believe that people still just use it as a video watching service. I know personally, I browse through cooking videos, music videos, and makeup tutorials for hours on end. The ease of YouTube is really the appeal to it. When you google something, the video automatically takes you to youtube. It is easy to search if you are looking for a tutorial or instructions of some kind.

The true appeal of a PSA on Youtube is that the videos are so easy to embed in a post, an email, a text message, or a news story. I had probably seen the Paul Rudd video 4 times before this prompt, because of its ease to put it other places. News is easy to find on the site, and it is so easy to follow a path from an email to a site to a link and end up back on YouTube.

--

--

Quinn Hodge
JMS 215 Social Media Storytelling

University of Northern Colorado Journalism. Music lover. Camping. Reading. Watching.