Weekly Post Five

Matilda Preisendorf
JMS 215 Social Media Storytelling
2 min readSep 27, 2020

How COVID Has Affected Small Businesses.

Photo courtesy: Patrick’s Instagram

During the time of a pandemic, many people have been financially hurt. Especially those that own small businesses. With this project, I will be focusing on one small business in particular, Patrick’s a local bar, and curate information through research and interviews from the owners. Many bars and restaurants have been hit especially hard because of capacity restrictions, social distancing, and liquor sale time restraints. I am going to get photographs of the business to make my final project more interesting and personal. I believe this issue is timely because we are expecting to be hit by another wave of COVID as the winter approaches and we need to be supporting these small businesses while we have the opportunity. I will be using Facebook to share this project because of the older audience it typically houses, as most of my friends on Instagram or Twitter are too young to go to bars. I will also be using my personal blog on Squarespace to share this story for those who are not as active on social media.

For this project, I will be interviewing Abbey Farnsworth. She and her husband Greg are the owners of the local Irish themed pub. They have worked hard making sure reopening the bar was safe for everyone including staff members and customers. I have known Abbey for a long time and I know how important the Greeley community is to her and her family. I am passionate about this topic and business because it is important for me to use this platform in order to help others,

--

--

Matilda Preisendorf
JMS 215 Social Media Storytelling

I am currently a student at the University of Northern Colorado and am working towards a degree in journalism.