Using AI to Schedule My Work

J Marie
jmspaceblog
Published in
4 min readJul 18, 2022
Reclaim

What is Reclaim AI?

Reclaim AI is a scheduling AI. Reclaim takes the events that are put on the calendar in consideration to help you plan your tasks, meeting, and habits.

Reclaim can integrate with several productivity tools like Slack, Google Tasks, and Asana. When creating an account, you use your Google account to get started. Your Google Calendar is integrated with Reclaim. All your events on the calendar that you choose to sync will show in Reclaim. Reclaim uses those events to help find time for your tasks and meetings.

Tasks in Reclaim are scheduled based on the availability of your calendar. It finds time for that task that you need to get done.

  • If you make a task that needs 10 hours to work on it, Reclaim will break that task into different time slots that fit into your Google Calendar events.
  • Even if you don’t have time for completing the task in one day or sitting, Reclaim will find time to do this task over time.
Reclaim planner page.

First Impressions

I honestly don’t know how I came across Reclaim. I’m on the home page, looking around. Let’s give it a try. Initially, this looks like it works for people that need extra help when wondering when to do what. Reclaim will schedule that task into open time in your schedule. I don’t think that putting a hundred tasks into Reclaim is good but those upcoming and high-demand tasks will do for now.

It was confusing at first, it had me wondering why the other calendars weren’t syncing but Reclaim only does one calendar automatically. You would have to add the other calendars.

One thing that I did notice is that it is hard to have all of your calendars from Google in this. You will have to sync each calendar to see it on Reclaim and for it to see your availability. I didn’t want to do that just to try out an app. My way around this is to just use one calendar just to try out Reclaim. I usually use time blocking to schedule my tasks, adding them as events in their perspective calendar. Now in Reclaim, those tasks can be scheduled by the AI magic.

One Week

I have been in a more productive mood. I’m getting work done. Reclaim takes out the planning and wondering when will I have time for this by just scheduling your tasks for me. Just put in how many hours it will take you to complete, how much time you are willing to work on the task in one sitting, and when is the due date. With these 3 things, Reclaim puts tasks into your schedule where they fit.

It schedules around your meetings and events. Put a meeting or event on your Google Calendar and those hours get blocked off within Reclaim. Reclaim can move tasks around when events are put on the calendar.

Google Calendar View.

2 Weeks Later

Now I’m in week 2 of using Reclaim. I have gotten a good understanding of how to use it and what’s a good way of scheduling tasks. I am thinking more of how much time I need to complete a task verse wondering if I have enough time to get it done. Reclaim has made it simple, taking the guesswork out of scheduling.

I am at the point where I can move things around and add events to fit the way I work. I have readjusted the way I plan tasks and events. All my to-dos were in Notion as a running list. Now the tasks are in Google Tasks. When I’m away from my computer and think of a task, I just add it to Tasks. When I get back to my computer, I update the task with the number of working hours and more details. I still use Notion for the more detailed information, but use Google Tasks and Reclaim for scheduling. (Reclaim has a formula for making a task in Google Task but I don’t want to remember how to do it. It’s simple once you remember how to do it.)

I have been using Reclaim without a team or scheduling meetings. I don’t have a team to share my calendar with for any of the work that I do. So I can’t speak on how it works from a team perspective. From an individual perspective, Reclaim works. Just having the help to schedule tasks is enough.

I am fully committed to using Reclaim. I can say that if you are having scheduling issues, give Reclaim a try. It automatically puts everything on the calendar and you can change events and tasks around and it will adapt. Any changes you make will make the AI change up your schedule to meet deadlines, meetings, and events. This is the first time I have gone for a long time of just working consistently. Sometimes I just stop or don’t feel like doing anything. Taking the guesswork out of what to do next, I have been more productive for the past two weeks than I have been in the past month.

--

--