JMU Federal Dukes Spotlight: Nicole Rodriguez —Captain, U. S. Coast Guard

The Pulse of Government Contracting
JMU Federal Dukes
Published in
2 min readDec 12, 2022

Professional Bio

CAPT Rodriguez serves as Field Commander for the Coast Guard in Lake Charles, LA executing Captain of the Port, Officer in Charge Marine Inspections, Federal On-Scene Coordinator & Federal Maritime Security Coordinator authorities. Previous tours include Chief of Prevention at Sector Houston, Commanding Officer MSU Baton Rouge, Chief of Investigations Sector Baltimore, & HQ staff tours. She is a certified Maritime Port Executive & holds a BA from JMU & MPA from The George Washington University.

JMU Major / Year Graduated

Anthropology, 1998 graduate

Why did you choose JMU?

It’s hard to explain, but from the first moment I stepped foot on the JMU campus I just KNEW I belonged there. The campus was beautiful, nestled in the Shenandoah with the Blue Ridge Mountains. I just fell in love with it. I was in my high school marching band at the time and loved seeing the JMU Marching Royal Dukes. I knew I wanted to be an MRD. I’m glad I went to JMU. I made lifelong friends and have great memories from there.

How did your degree from JMU lead you to where you are today?

My BA is in Anthropology/Archaeology & it was very hard to find a job upon graduation! I couldn’t even get a low-level job cataloguing bones after I graduated. Not knowing what to do , I went to the Coast Guard because my dad was in the Coast Guard. When the Coast Guard asked what use they had for an anthropologist I explained that my skills of knowing how to understand different cultures was important to the Coast Guard’s international & humanitarian mission set. They must have believed me!

What does working for the Federal Government community mean to you?

Not long after I joined, 9/11 happened. 9/11 changed so much about us as a country, and the Coast Guard, being the smallest of the armed services, was able to adjust quickly, while staying grounded to its core identity. I realized how much I loved my job. It’s rewarding and I feel I am making a difference. I found a real purpose in a job that plays upon my strengths and challenged me to be more than I was. In 22 years I’ve held some amazing jobs and done things I’ve never thought possible.

--

--

The Pulse of Government Contracting
JMU Federal Dukes

We are a boutique federal market intelligence firm that specializes in Government Contracting storytelling. Learn more here: https://thepulsegovcon.com/