NBA Ranking Day by Day (2022–23 Season)

Joan Chiang
JoanChiang
Published in
2 min readApr 12, 2023

Since the 2019–20 season, NBA has introduced play-in games to increase the competitiveness between seed seven and seed ten. No matter what people think about the new tournament rule, it brings the ranking war at the end of the regular season.

The black line is seed six, and the red dashed line is seed ten. The blue verticle line represents the day of the trade deadline.

Above is the NBA ranking trend day by day. I divide the rankings into the western and eastern conferences, beginning with the first day of the regular season and terminating with the last day of the regular season. That is why there are few teams that start with a 1.0 win percentage.

As a Lakers fan, I keep an eye on the rankings after the All-Star week because I believe the trade will help the team make the playoffs, and we finally made it.

All the files via Github-Ranking

--

--

Joan Chiang
JoanChiang

I am an international student, studying in sports business at Temple university. Welcome to my analytics world. I hope you'll enjoy