Do You Really Need a Career Coach When You Are Jobless?

Christina Szeman
Job Hopper Times
Published in
4 min readJan 7, 2023

--

It’s not for everyone, as they say.

Photo by sydney Rae on Unsplash.

I’m sure you’re all aware, but I’ve been unemployed since the pandemic started and have been looking for work since then. A few months ago, I got myself a career coach from my local provincial government for free. I am still working with her.

I connected with someone on LinkedIn who wanted me to pay for their career coaching service a few weeks ago. And their service was $200 a session.

I told this person the truth, which got me thinking about this topic.

I understand that coaches need to get paid. Why do their services cost so much for unemployed people?

You can find coaches for anything from life ‌to your career. Some coaches only want your money and couldn’t care less about actually helping you. I am not saying that all coaches are bad, but there are some that shouldn’t be doing this at all.

But why are they contacting you without the consideration that you might not afford their services?

Yet, you have been searching for over six months with no luck. What else can you do to fast track your way back to a job?

What Kind of Job Seekers are best to look for Career Coaches?

--

--

Christina Szeman
Job Hopper Times

Christina is a writer, podcaster, and copywriter. She has been writing for over 15 years. She just started two new publications on Medium.