story

Mandella Effect?

Story

Debra Davis
Job Hopper Times
Published in
3 min readMay 7, 2023

--

black woman looking up and wondering about the mandela affect
Photo by Tachina Lee on Unsplash

If you don’t know what the “Mandela Effect” is, then look at the bottom of this story and read it first.

I admit I have been pretty unreliable in keeping track of my work folder and forgetting to check in and out of work. The reason is that I am a caregiver and go to people’s homes to take care of them, and we get to gabbing, or I am doing tasks around their house, and it slips my mind.

Also, the client or I have to call in on the client’s phone, which makes it an extra hassle. And the problem with the work folder is I have to take it with me back and forth every time I run an errand, or take them to the doctor.

I also wasn’t putting down my gas mileage because it was too much hassle, and I usually didn’t go too far for the client, although that would not be a problem for my work, because that would save them money.

Now with my new client, I drive many miles when I run errands for her, so I have to put down the gas mileage, or I am losing a lot of money each week.

Recently, my boss told me that from now on, I don’t get paid unless I check in at the right time, instead of being at my client's house at one time, and then checking in two hours later; for instance, if I go to my client’s house at 10 a.m. but don’t check in until 11 a.m., I lose an…

--

--

Debra Davis
Job Hopper Times

I have been writing for a very long time, ever since I was in the 4th grade, when poetry was introduced to me.