article

The Trials Of A Caregiver.

Job Article

Debra Davis
Job Hopper Times
Published in
5 min readApr 4, 2023

--

girl house-keeper and mean woman

Image by Prawny from Pixabay

I have been a caregiver for several years, and it never ceases to amaze me how different people act when I am taking care of them.

Although most of my interactions with clients are positive, there are several really mean people who don’t know how to treat other people.

I had a client who was a very overweight African American woman who was 58 years old. I am 70. The first day I was in her home, she wouldn’t even let me sign in to my work via her phone, which was required.

She insisted on doing it for me, though that method was not accepted by the company I worked for.

She told me I was supposed to take her to the doctor, and I asked her if I could get a cup of coffee so I wouldn’t fall asleep at the wheel.

She told me not to worry because when I got outside I would wake up, and besides, I had to bring my own coffee. (We had plenty of time.) It was not unusual for my other clients to insist that I have a cup of coffee with them, so all this was new to me.

So I went to my car, and I was putting everything from my front passenger seat into the back seat of my car, thinking I was then going to go to my client’s door and help her out.

--

--

Debra Davis
Job Hopper Times

I have been writing for a very long time, ever since I was in the 4th grade, when poetry was introduced to me.