Case study: How Outward Bound Costa Rica is building a truly global team

Learn the difference a well-written job listing makes in international recruitment

Rachel Andrea Go
Jobbatical Blog
Published in
2 min readJan 31, 2018

--

Outward Bound Costa Rica provides students with outdoor adventures that build up their intercultural competence, Spanish language, self-awareness and life skills. Their mission is to facilitate personal growth and success in character development, leadership, service and academic achievement. With a history reaching back more than 70 years, Outward Bound now operates in over 30 countries, offering life-changing journeys to thousands of students every year.

They recently signed up on Jobbatical and hired a programs and partnerships manager from France to join their team in Costa Rica. We asked Deborah Woolley, Director of Marketing & Communications, about their experience with hiring on Jobbatical.

We want a diverse office, and Jobbatical offered us that,” says Deb. “That’s important to us. Our students are multicultural and diverse, so I want to be able to reflect that in our office. I had hired my marketing manager last February, and when I wasn’t getting the responses I really wanted from other sites, she told me about Jobbatical. I took a look at it and I thought, sounds good to me! So I posted the job.

And Jobbatical was a lot of help. When I first posted the job, the responses that I was getting didn’t meet the needs of the job itself, so I contacted Jobbatical and I said, you know, I’m not happy with these responses, what can we do? And so they rewrote the posting for me, and it was a complete change. The responses that I got, the people that applied, really were qualified. So I would recommend Jobbatical to anybody.

This post is a part of Jobbatical’s hiring blog, designed to help hiring managers get their teams to the next level. To get our new articles straight to your inbox, please sign up for our hiring newsletter.

--

--

Rachel Andrea Go
Jobbatical Blog

Remote content coordinator and strategist for e-commerce and SaaS clients. Free remote work email course: http://bit.ly/remoteworkcourse