Most In-Demand Expat Jobs

Jobbatical
Jobbatical Blog
Published in
2 min readMar 27, 2018

Today's guest post is brought to you by Adam Vagley, the co-founder of GoodMigrations.

I’ve lived and worked overseas twice — first in London and then in Sydney — but every time I scroll through my Instagram feed, which is heavy on travel, I want to do it again. I’ve also been following Jobbatical since they got started and their blog posts don’t exactly help with curtailing my sense of wanderlust.

All this daydreaming about potentially living abroad again got me thinking about a critical part of the expat experience: working abroad. After all, if you can’t support yourself then you can wave goodbye to that Instagram lifestyle.

There were four aspects of working abroad that I wanted to explore and Jobbatical was the perfect place to get this data.

First, for people interested in moving abroad, what are the most in-demand jobs? Knowing which roles companies need would allow wannabe expats to focus on growing their skillset if they don’t have the right background. And for people who do have the experience already… well, it means there is one less hurdle for them to make a move.

Second, I was curious which cities are home to companies seeking out the most expat talent. Some of the results were definitely unexpected and others I’ve been hearing about for a while.

Third, I thought it would be fun to take a look at some of the perks these companies are offering. The war for talent is becoming truly global and standing out requires more than a stocked kitchen. Some of the employee benefits are pretty incredible (think exotic work retreats), and I have no doubt that perks will only become more extravagant in the future.

Finally, I wanted to highlight the jobs that seemed the most interesting to show that all sorts of unique skills are valuable to companies.

I had a lot of fun making this infographic and I hope you enjoy reading it.

Author's bio

Adam Vagley is co-founder of GoodMigrations, which makes it easy to move anywhere in the world with free city guides and other resources for relocating abroad. He’s lived and worked in London, New York, and Sydney, and currently resides in Los Angeles with his family.

--

--