Saddest. Tech Writing Job. Ever.

This was originally posted in February 2013.

A friend’s in-law passed away, and he asked me if I could edit the obituary for him. One of my best friends. Not even a chance I would consider saying no.

Like everything I do writing-related, I put more effort into it than was necessary, to the point of my effort almost being ineffective (it was late, I was tired).

I asked my wife to read it before I sent it back to him. She gingerly told me it was worse, seeing how long I worked on only 288 words.

I poured over about thirty obituaries in the online version of the local paper to see how I could improve it.

I just finished it. I am now terribly sad.

I knew this woman who passed away. Only just so, as she was the sister of my best friend’s girlfriend. I would say we met about five times, almost always at a child’s birthday party; we all have kids the same age.

All of the people’s obituaries I read were older people, but this woman was so much younger. I felt such an obligation to do it right.

If this were my mother’s obituary it could be one of the most important things I ever read. The gravity of it all has me feeling very appreciative of my life. But nevertheless, sad.

I’m just tired and have been reading about all of these wonderful people who no longer walk among us, so I’m kind of sad. So very sad for her and her family.

Even technical writing can touch people’s lives.

Originally published at techwriterninja.tumblr.com.

--

--

John A. Paz
Tale of a Tech Writer: The portfolio of John A. Paz

Content Design Manager and Tech Writer, technology enthusiast, sports nut, and unwavering optimist. My thoughts here are my own. https://Link.Gallery/johnapaz