Changes to my Role at Civil

Vivian Schiller
Civil
Published in
2 min readDec 9, 2019
Photo by John Salzarulo on Unsplash

This morning, The Aspen Institute announced that I will be joining them as a full-time Executive Director for their programs about tech, media, innovation and cybersecurity etc. It’s an exciting and important role and no doubt I will have much more to say about our plans in the not-too-distant future.

But for now, I want to talk about Civil. I’m not saying goodbye as I plan to continue on the Civil Council and as a director on the Civil Foundation board, unpaid. This initiative is too important for me to walk away, and I believe it is firmly on the right path. Matthew Iles will be able to share more with you soon about some positive developments that are nearing closure. But even today there is much for us to be proud of including a governance system and technology that shows that decentralized networks built on trust and a robust ethical code can work. That is worth celebrating even as there is still much to be done.

It has been an absolute privilege to build Civil alongside incredible colleagues, First Fleet newsrooms and other Civil newsrooms, the Civil Council and an incredible network of friends and supporters around the world. Thank you for allowing me to be part of this movement. The journey continues…

--

--

Vivian Schiller
Civil
Writer for

Playing at the intersection of journalism, media and tech. CEO, Civil Foundation. Former @Twitter, @NBCNews, @NPR, @NYTimes, @Discovery, @CNN