Meet Renee Sim, Paladin’s New Product Designer!

Kristen Sonday
Paladin
Published in
2 min readDec 2, 2022
Renee Sim

Renee, we’re thrilled to have you on board! Tell us about your background.

After graduating from the University of Virginia, I worked as a title 1 educator in the public school system, working primarily with low-income, immigrant families, just like mine. I pivoted into product design when the opportunity to combine my two passions for design and impact arose. I joined a tech-enabled healthcare startup whose mission was to provide accessible, dignified services to underserved communities. There, I advocated for design thinking, drove user focused research, and helped develop internal products, directly impacting the work of providers and counselors. Now, I’m here!

What drew you to Paladin?

I first heard about Paladin through Humans of New York- they did a series on how Paladin came to be, and I knew this was a company I wanted to follow; to see the company flourish would mean more access to underserved people at scale. As someone who firmly believes access and education is the key to equity, I see law as one of the first hurdles for marginalized communities. When I saw the posting for a product designer, I knew I wanted to join the work being done here at Paladin.

Why is access to justice important to you?

My personal experiences growing up in a low socioeconomic, immigrant household has led me to understand the value of access to many things, including justice. Due to those experiences, the work of increasing access to justice is a cause I’d like to contribute to.

Desert island: one album, one book, one movie.

Album: Watermark by Enya

Book: The Little Prince

Movie: The Dark Knight

Which GIF best represents how you feel about building justice?

--

--

Kristen Sonday
Paladin

Co-Founder, CEO @JoinPaladin. Partner @LongJump. World traveller. Wine and chocolate lover.