Northwestern Law Class of 2019 Public Service Stars on What Inspired Them to Take on Pro Bono Work

Kristen Sonday
Paladin
Published in
3 min readJun 24, 2019

During the 2018–2019 academic year, Paladin had the privilege of helping students from Northwestern Pritzker School of Law manage their pro bono work. We were blown away by their incredible engagement and asked a few of Northwestern’s Class of 2019 Public Service Stars what inspired them to take on pro bono:

On making a substantive impact:

I decided to do pro bono at Northwestern because it is a great way to serve the community. Pro bono provided me the opportunity to have a real, substantive impact on the lives of individuals who, for many times due to circumstances outside of their control, desperately need legal assistance. Not only was it an incredibly fulfilling experience to help those in need, but it was also an invaluable, hands-on learning opportunity to learn the law, practical considerations, and how to counsel clients effectively. I’m grateful for Northwestern’s emphasis on pro bono and look forward to continue doing so as I begin my legal career.

Peter Candel

On championing Chicago community:

I wanted to connect with the Chicago community beyond the law school or even the legal field in general. The Frank Lloyd Wright Trust, Chicago Independent Radio Project (CHIRP), and Chicago Architecture Center’s Open House Chicago are all organizations that bring me — and many others — joy and make Chicago a better place to live. I hope that by championing local culture, I can do a small part to enhance civic pride and create a stronger, more supportive city. On a more selfish level, these organizations contribute to my sense of belonging, foster the interests I had before going to law school, and introduce me to a wide range of people and ideas, which I think builds empathy and will ultimately make me a better lawyer.

Kelsey Stimple

On what it means to be a lawyer:

Pro bono gave me an opportunity to be of service to people who were in need. It allowed me be a part of something that worked towards improving people’s lives and their work environment. I was constantly reminded that being an impactful lawyer means being of service to those in need within my community, and the journey for striving to raise others up is one that should never stop.

Feyi Lawanson

On promoting pro bono culture:

I always had an interest in volunteering before coming to Northwestern University but didn’t know how to channel it. The university fostered pro-bono hours during the academic year and provided resources to volunteer for several organizations, which was a perfect conduit for me to find the organizations that I’m passionate about. It is a great inner satisfaction to be a volunteer and I would continue to do it at every opportunity I get.

Sri Kota

On skill-building:

I love working pro bono because its a way to simultaneously be selfless and selfish at the same time. Most importantly, I can not only help those in need and those like me, but I can also give back to the very communities that created me and transformed me into the woman I am today. These selfless contributions to society invigorate my passion to create opportunity for others while equally developing my transferable skills to an extent that prepares me to be an asset in every environment I participate in. My community involvement both in and outside the legal world teach inclusion, advocacy, patience, communication, cultural fluency, critical thinking, resourcefulness, and so much more.

Shelisa Thomas

--

--

Kristen Sonday
Paladin

Co-Founder, CEO @JoinPaladin. Partner @LongJump. World traveller. Wine and chocolate lover.