Welcome to Carlos Mercado, our Newest Senior Software Engineer!

Kristen Sonday
Paladin
Published in
2 min readMay 16, 2022

Carlos, we’re thrilled to have you on board! To start us off, tell us about your background.

I started building web applications to help manage municipal programs while working as an energy analyst. I was hooked. Years later I joined an insurtech startup as a full stack engineer. There I led most of the frontend design and implementation. Later on as the manager of our Data team I led efforts to scale our data ETL and Risk360 product.

What drew you to Paladin?

After meeting the team and leadership, I was struck by how passionate they are about the mission. I’m excited to work on a platform that helps underserved communities.

Why is access to justice important to you?

Access to pro bono legal services can literally change people’s lives. People being deported or evicted. Families trying to stay together. It’s so important that these services are accessible to those who can’t afford an attorney.

Desert island: one album, one book, one movie.

Album: Pet Sounds

Book: How to Stay Alive in the Woods by Bradford Angier (hey, I’m on island right?)

Movie: Step Brothers

Which GIF best represents how you feel about building justice tech

--

--

Kristen Sonday
Paladin

Co-Founder, CEO @JoinPaladin. Partner @LongJump. World traveller. Wine and chocolate lover.