“Ask Addi” Begins

Answers to your questions about gender diversity, transitioning and more!

Addison's Agenda
Join the Gender Revolution

--

Welcome to the first installment of Ask Addi. In the future, this column will attempt to answer reader’s questions about gender diversity, transitioning and just about anything that involves LGBTQ+ issues. However, in this first column, I thought I’d briefly introduce myself in addition to answering a question.

Addison J. Smith

Hi, I’m Addi.

I must say right from the beginning that like most other advice columnists, I am not a psychologist or psychiatrist, so if someone writes in with an issue that would best be handled by a mental health provider I will make that clear in my answer.

“If you’re not a psychologist, then what makes you qualified to answer questions and offer advice?” I’m glad you asked.

I started teaching while pursuing a master’s degree and then a doctorate in Music Theory and Composition. After several years of enjoying my teaching experience, I decided to concentrate on classes about psychology, human development and learning, pedagogy and such; however, I discovered that while I loved teaching, being a professor didn’t suit me.

That’s why I switched to Digital Storytelling, a degree that combines journalism and new media production. While I was pursuing this…

--

--

Addison's Agenda
Join the Gender Revolution

Addison Smith is an LGBTQ+ and disability educator and activist living in the Midwest with their cat. They/She. More info at https://addisonsagenda.com