Project Spotlight: Daniela Bernstein, Storyboard

Daniela Bernstein
Forge
Published in
3 min readJan 22, 2020
My capture of Boylan on UVA Basketball’s game day

This project is one of my all time favorite videos I have created. As our final project in HackCville’s video storytelling course, now called Storyboard, our assignment was to create a video of any topic within 2.5–5 minutes in length, telling a cohesive narrative. I took this course in Spring 2019 while UVA Basketball was dominating in March Madness; thus everything on my mind was consumed by UVA Basketball. I pitched my idea to my team: Boylan on Gameday — the ins and outs of what UVA sports fans do on gameday.

The most challenging aspect of this project was the timing and turn around; the project was assigned on a Sunday and the next UVA tournament game was on the following Saturday which left my team little time to prepare. We got together to plan specific shots, b-roll, equipment and logistics. A challenge with getting the footage was just the overwhelming crowd of people after we won the Final Four game. Getting out of Boylan with all of our camera equipment while everyone was storming the Corner was an experience I will never forget! Once all of the footage was collected, putting the video together was super fun for me because I got to relive the game with every edit.

The final result is something I am still so proud of even a year later. Since this video, I have learned so much more about different techniques for collecting and editing videos, but I am still happy with this video. There were so many hiccups we ran into on Gameday (we ended up losing all of the footage from one of our cameras!) but every time I watch this video, I still get so hyped thinking about the golden era of UVA Basketball. Some of the audio tracks got a bit messed up in export, but I have used these lessons for all of my future videos.

Me at HackCville’s spring 2020 Open House, where I captured photos and videos as our first ever Video Producer

This project was one of my first videos that I was truly passionate about — I pitched my idea from beginning to end and was so lucky to have amazing teammates who were on board from the beginning (shoutout to Wendy and Andre)! Getting to be creative with my work is important but challenging; I can brainstorm a bunch of complex ideas, but seeing them through varies. The practice of telling a story from start to finish is something I still use with each video I make. This project has influenced what I am doing now at HackCville since it was my intro to videography, and I am now HackCville’s first Video Producer. I am so lucky for all of these experiences and hope you find a way to combine your passions as I was able to in this video.

In Storyboard, our digital storytelling course, we’ll teach you everything from interviewing skills to how to use a DSLR to Adobe Premiere video editing through our weekly workshops. You’ll get one-on-one feedback for every story, and you’ll gain access to our in-house digital media studio, filled with fast computers and modern camera and recording equipment. We’ll train you how to use all of it during your time in Storyboard. And you’ll gain clarity into what you want to continue learning, way faster than you ever could in school. Learn more and register here.

--

--