Project Spotlight: “Hot Little Biscuit” Brand Guide

Eliza Blackstone
Forge
Published in
2 min readJan 20, 2021

Last semester, Forge students worked hard in all their courses to create impressive projects in everything from software development to data science to digital marketing. In Forge’s graphic design course, Vector, students were asked to create a brand presentation including deliverables that they created throughout the semester. One of the most impressive projects was created by Mia Gualtieri who won Forge-wide runner-up in our Showcase voting last semester! Keep reading to find out more about Mia and her project.

First, tell us a bit about you!
Hi! My name is Mia Gualtieri and I’m a second year from Washington, D.C. I’m currently undecided for my major, but I’m interested in sustainability and film and am involved with related CIOs on Grounds.

What experience have you had with Forge in the past? Was Vector your first class?
My only experience with Forge in the past was taking Vector during the fall semester of this year!

Did you have any experience with graphic design before Vector?
I didn’t have much experience with graphic design before Vector. I was familiar with photoshop and general design principles from taking New Media in the Studio Art department, and I had used programs like Canva in the past, but I learned the majority of my graphic design-specific skills from Vector.

Tell us about what kind of project you created last semester.
My final project for Vector was a branding guide for a restaurant called “Hot Little Biscuit.” I have fond memories of getting biscuits here when I visit my best friend in Atlanta, so I loved getting to redesign their branding to convey how important the restaurant is to me. For the final product I included a few different logos, a gif, and an app design [seen below].

Where did you get your creative inspiration?
I’m most inspired by people and places that are important to me. From a design perspective, I’m inspired by designs that incorporate vibrant colors, minimalism, and specific imagery.

What was the most challenging aspect of your project?
I found the logo [seen below] design to be a challenge. At times I wanted the image to be too detailed and difficult to replicate, and at others it felt as though the logo was not connected enough to the restaurant. Therefore, I used two different logos for different purposes, like when differing levels of simplicity and replicability were necessary.

Check out Mia’s entire branding guide below:

--

--