Student Art at Forge

Helen Bechler
Forge
Published in
4 min readFeb 27, 2022

When they’re not taking courses on marketing or tech, hanging out at the Forge clubhouse, or busy with schoolwork, Forge students take on their own artistic endeavors. Here are a few art samples that highlight the wide range of talent in our community.

Sarrah Abdulali

“Henna tattoos are native to the countries and regions of India, North Africa, and the Middle East, and this is because they have optimal conditions for the Henna plant to grow. As an Indian and Pakistani Muslim, I have grown up seeing Henna done for occasions such as Ramadan, Eid, and weddings; therefore I decided to teach myself the art and do it for others!”

Vinay Bhaip

“I made these generative art pieces last year after being inspired to tinker around with a realistic type of noise called Perlin noise (hence the name Perlin Planets). I spent some time creating flow fields with noise and projecting them onto spheres and came with some pretty cool results!”

Anna Grace Calhoun

“This was a watercolor I did after reading two books (Empire of the Summer Moon and Lonesome Dove) about the settlement/conquest of the American West, specifically in Texas. Both books did a great job highlighting the brutality, common misconceptions, and complicated moral conflicts of that period.”

“I like to keep track of random helpful or thought-provoking quotes from podcasts and using them as a jumping off point for more creative or random pieces. These pen drawings are examples of that.”

“I’ve followed the war in Afghanistan pretty closely for a while and did this wood burning around the time we withdrew troops from the country, reflecting on how this policy change would enable the continued erasure of women’s rights and the tension between interventionism and advocacy. Wood burning is a relatively new art form for me and something I’m still experimenting with technique-wise.”

“I did this collage/painting project the summer of 2020. It was inspired by an essay called “The Trayvon Generation” by Elizabeth Alexander, which discusses the trauma and advocacy caused by growing up so visually aware of racial violence, as well as the importance of joy and self-expression for this generation.”

“These are paintings I did of various national parks, some of which I’ve visited before and some which I hope to visit in the future!”

Avery Colyer

“I’m a big Spongebob fan and thought this scene would make for a great landscape painting! I love watching Bob Ross videos and trying to copy them, so this was definitely inspired by that type of painting.”

Arthur Wu

““Something I drew + animated a couple years ago, sold as an NFT earlier last year!”

Kavya Annapareddy

“This is my friend, Sami. She is very pretty. I drew a picture she took at 7:15pm. Follow her on Twitch: twitch.tv/aesbit

“I like to play a game called Valorant. This is a character named Jett. I don’t know how to play her, but I think she is pretty.”

Catherine Cura

“I always feel like my best self around water. Just one of the many reasons why these two photos mean so much to me!”

Alvin Yao

“This is one of my favorite photographs I made in my hometown Taipei. I bought a film camera in 2020 and have since taken it to re-explore my hometown, which led to my 2021 street photography book “Stranger Comes Home”

--

--