Thoughts on Joko, as a CFO

Charles Fouchault
Joko Blog
Published in
3 min readNov 17, 2020

Who am I?

My name is Charles and I have been working at Joko for 5 months now, as the CFO. Going back a few years ago: I grew up in Nantes and came to Paris to study Business Law and Finance. My background led me to a career starting in Audit and Financial Consulting.

After a few fulfilling years in this area, I decided to shift towards a more entrepreneurial path, and got the opportunity to join Lydia as CFO. Through this experience, I discovered the Fintech ecosystem and evolved in a fast-growing start-up.

When I got to know more about Joko, its team and the vision behind the project, it quickly became obvious it was the logical next step for me, the type of exciting challenge I was looking for. Since then, I have been leveraging what I learnt in my previous experiences, and made my best to adapt it to an early-stage structure.

A day as a CFO at Joko

I mainly address the following three topics:

  • Finance & Accounting: I provide financial, accounting, and legal structure, and look for innovative funding schemes to finance our growth.
  • Legal & Regulatory: My goal is to set the tools and processes to build strong compliance foundations. Together with our DPO, we tackle GDPR projects in order to make both our users and partners 100% confident about the way their data is being handled.
  • Human Ressources Management: I am the one to discuss with when it comes to labour contracts, payroll or everything that could make your life easier as a Joko employee. When the moment arrives, I will also be in charge of implementing an employee representation environment, such as the creation of a CSE.

What do I like the most about my job? Definitely searching for new sources of funding: convincing investors and bankers of the scalability of the disrupting experience Joko is offering. Recently, I particularly enjoyed building the Joko Financial Forecast, putting down into figures the overall strategy of the company.

The last topic I worked on outside my CFO tasks? I am strongly involved in the recruitment of great new talents in all the teams (if you want to join us, see here ⚡️).

Joko facts

  • What is unique at Joko: the product, definitely. It hit me when I downloaded the app (easy, fun, rewarding) — I am convinced that cashback is a highly promising sector, and that we are on our way to becoming the one-stop shopping app for millions of users globally. It is even better to be backstage, knowing about all the upcoming cool features. Stay tuned!
  • My favorite value at Joko: Set the bar high. Everything we do at Joko is open to be challenged and is indeed challenged when needed. I love that everything is put in place to reach the right direction: iterations among the team are valued, and excellence will never suffer from any compromise.

And outside of work?

I am a travel-addict, but what I appreciate the most is eating oysters on seaside and drinking good wines with friends 😉

Do not hesitate to contact me if you have any question!

--

--