Someone Else’s Skin

A nonet on loneliness

J Oliver Dempsey
JOliver’s Twist

--

Photo by Shane on Unsplash

Have you ever been so damn lonely

That you sit in your room writing

Ignoring your broken heart

Hoping for a phone call

Longing for a text

Needing the touch

Of someone

Else’s

Skin?

Dear Medium Family,

For those unfamiliar with the form, a nonet is a 9-line poem that begins the first line with 9 syllables and proceeds to lose 1 syllable per line, ending the poem with a single syllable in the last line. Rhyme is not required, but you may employ a rhyme scheme if you wish. The fun challenge is in the brevity — trying to say what you want to say in a very short space, all while adhering to the subtraction of exactly 1 syllable per line!
I was inspired to try this after reading a nonet written by
Alison McBain. I hope you’ll give it a try, and I’d be super happy if you send me a link of your poem in the comments of this piece!

Thanks, as always, for being here!

J Oliver

Please take a moment and read Alison’s nonet; I know you’ll enjoy it!

--

--

J Oliver Dempsey
JOliver’s Twist

I am a poet, stonemason, amateur violinist, and dad. Thank you for joining me here, and at my new pub, "JOliver's Twist."