Strengths Finder 2.0

Jon Taves
Multiple Musings
Published in
3 min readMar 28, 2016

I’ve got a soft spot for sports movies. Hoosiers, starring Gene Hackman, is probably my favorite movie of all time. Rudy, the famous true story of a walk-on Notre Dame football player, is ranked highly on my list, as well. What I like most about these movies is their inspirational nature. In both — and similarly in Miracle, Rocky, and others — the underdog wins. Through sheer determination and a love of their sport, the less talented individual or team ends up victorious.

These stories are inspiring because as the Ben Folds song tells us, “there’s always someone cooler [and smarter] than you.” The hope that with a little extra elbow grease, we too can achieve great things is incredibly motivating. Central to this belief is that we can overcome our weaknesses, no matter what they are, if we work hard enough. Tom Rath, author of Strengths Finder 2.0 and its accompanying assessment tool, argues just the opposite.

Extensive research with social scientists at US universities and with Gallup, Inc. have led Mr. Rath to conclude that one’s strengths rarely change over time. Try as we might, some talents are innate. We can still take steps to control our destiny, however, regardless of whether or not we won the genetic lottery. Specifically, by identifying our strengths and working to build on them, we can amplify our talents and become more likely to fulfill our potential.

Spurred to action by Mr. Rath’s thesis, I bought his book and took his strengths assessment. Before I share my results, I would like to recommend that you also take his assessment. I found it personally illuminating, but also a valuable resource in better understanding how to work effectively in teams. My results are as follows:

“Competition” is my top strength. From personal experience, I’ve found that I have an instinctive desire to push myself to the limit. What’s more, once I achieve that goal, I rarely take the time to enjoy the spoils of my victory — an area Mr. Rath points out in which I can improve. Further, Mr. Rath suggests that people with this strength should insert competition into even the most mundane tasks in order to be more productive. He does point out, however, to be careful to not let one’s desire to win negatively impact interpersonal relationships.

“Futuristic” was ranked second. I feel quite congruent with this strength’s core principle that “everything and everyone can improve.” I enjoy analyzing the world around me with a critical lens and then setting goals to improve it. It should come as no surprise then, that I find planning for the future to be more exciting than completing today’s tasks. To combat this impulse, Mr. Rath recommends joining teams in which there is a strong presence for taking immediate action.

“Learner” is my third highest strength. I thought this was particularly accurate because I love to learn — this blog is an example of this passion. That said, I don’t like to learn about anything: I quickly become bored at museums, for instance. Mr. Rath agrees and points out that this strength isn’t universal; it applies only to topics that I believe will benefit me. Interestingly, Mr. Rath comments that individuals with this strength would enjoy working in consulting because the environment of constant learning will be very satisfying.

“Harmony” is my next strength. This talent is more than just seeking consensus and areas of agreement within a team or relationship, but it describes a greater practical outlook on life. Whether it’s out of a desire to not “make waves,” individuals with this strength tend to favor realistic solutions to problems. They also often seek the counsel of experts. On the downside, this attitude can make you appear to be too businesslike to acquaintances, Mr. Rath warns.

“Focus” is my final strength. Another multi-layered talent, it’s present in people that are extremely persistent and industrious. Often those with a reputation that they’ll apply themselves to a project and, regardless of how long it takes, will always complete it. It also speaks to someone that formulates a plan before taking action. A nod to my “Futuristic” strength, to be sure, but also applicable, because I feel that I frequently take care to prioritize my duties before I act.

--

--