My Email Exchange with Eric Metaxas

Jon Ward
Jon Ward
Published in
57 min readFeb 23, 2018

--

As I gathered information for a profile of Christian author Eric Metaxas, I reached out to him over e-mail with a series of questions. He responded with a 5,500-word reply. Our exchange is below. The profile itself is published at Yahoo News at this link: https://goo.gl/rFFd1R or on Medium at this link: https://goo.gl/ZtZg6H

I appreciate Eric’s humor and wit much more after working on this piece than I had before, after watching several hours of his speeches. I better understand why he is so sincerely liked by many of his friends, who privately and publicly expressed great affection for him. I think that was one of the biggest things I took out of doing this piece. That doesn’t change the fact that his answers to many of my questions were underwhelming and often struck me as inconsistent with other things he’s said. But the entire process reinforced for me the importance of seeing the humanity and grace in each person. It’s been a big theme for me over the past year or two, especially since we are living in a time when it is very difficult to look for that divine spark in others.

From: Jon Ward

Date: Fri, Feb 2, 2018 at 5:32 PM

Subject: interview request

To: Eric Metaxas

hi Eric, I’m a journalist in Washington D.C. for Yahoo News. I’m writing a profile…

--

--