OSX file permissions problems after Migration or TimeMachine restore

Jony Cheung
Jony’s blog
Published in
1 min readSep 29, 2013

After I migrated to a new machine running (10.8.5), I had run into various application problems because of file permissions:

  • Outlook identities were messed up. Even if I removed the identity, outlook gave me the error “You do not have write access to the outlook folder.To run outlook you must have the administrative user remove the identities folder from the application folder.”
  • I tried repairing the identity database using Microsoft Database Utility
  • I tried creating a new identity, but no luck.
  • And more interestingly, if I created a new user, Outlook works! This is why I know it was a file permissions issue.
  • Photoshop CS5/CS6 were messed up saying that ColorFont cannot be loaded.

I tried the following solutions to solve file permissions problems but they didn’t fix them:

  • Permissions repair in Disk Utility
  • Reseting home directory permission in “resetpassword” under recovery mode

So what did the trick was a command from this post:

sudo chflags -R nouchg,nouappnd ~ $TMPDIR.. ; sudo chown -R $UID:20 ~ $_ ; chmod -R -N ~ $_ 2> /dev/null

Use at your own risk.

--

--

Jony Cheung
Jony’s blog

Senior Engineering Manager at Postman | ex Atlassian, Sony Playstation, Prosper Marketplace