Brooklyn Transit Museum

Jordan Blaser
jordanblaser
Published in
2 min readApr 10, 2014
IMG_1467
DanielonTrain_Missblaser
InsideTrain_MissBlaser
IMG_0957

I’m not sure if I mentioned this, but it has been really cold here. Basically the weekends became a game of how can we avoid going outside at all and move that space heater closer! Now that it has finally reached normal-human-exhistance temperatures we are outside come rain or shine. Two weekends ago it was “come rain”. We thought the Transit Museum in Brooklyn was a good thing to check off our list.

We took the subway to a museum about the subway. You enter the museum like you would a subway stop. It was looking a little lame at first….I thought I was going to really be annoyed that I spent $7 to look at an old abandoned subway station. Then! Downstairs they had all the cars lined up on the platform with a plaque explaining the year each car was used. SO COOL! 1930s era was my favorite. (Photo of Daniel in one above.)

The designs were so great. GREEN paint with WICKER seats?! Totally on trend. All the vintage ads were really great too. Though, I can’t imagine riding those babies with only fans to cool me. And in stockings?! Nuh uh.

After the museum we headed over to the famous Gramaldi’s. The rain seemed to keep the crowds away. Usually this place has a line out the door. Best pizza in the city so far. I am still dreaming about it. And still kicking myself for not ordering a cannoli. Guess we will just have to go back.

--

--