Disneyworld 2014

Jordan Blaser
jordanblaser
Published in
6 min readJun 12, 2014
MagicKingdom // missblaser

We finally made our way to Florida last month. Daniel had never been to Disneyworld before and it has been on our list for a while. It was a great way to celebrate 5 years of marriage (June 13!).

MagicKingdom // missblaser.com
MagicKingdom Turkey Leg // missblaser.com

We used their new Magic Band system and it was pretty flawless and a little dangerous. You use it for everything, room key, park admission, fast pass, and your credit card. One touch and turkey legs felt almost free! We enjoyed having all our fast passes planned out before hand so you weren’t running around from ride to ride. The weather was HOT and HUMID so running around was not exactly a great idea.

MagicKingdom_MickeyIceCream
MagicKingdom People Mover // missblaser.com
Magic Kingdom Splash Mountain & Buzz // missblaser.com

I had to document the one and possibly only time I beat Daniel on Buzz Lightyear. It is actually one of my least favorite rides, but that doesn’t mean I don’t give it my all.

MagicKingdom Be Our Guest Restaurant // missblaser.com

We had lunch at Be Our Guest Restaurant that just opened a few weeks ago. I had the Tuna Nicoise Salad and Daniel had the Braised Pork. Both were delish and something I would recommend! For dessert we had “the gray stuff” which was basically a cupcake with a chocolate mousse frosting, it was pretty good — not a must have. In the restaurant they have 3 rooms. The ballroom (pictured), the West Wing (where we sat, but it was too dark to take pictures), and the Rose Gallery. All rooms were beautiful and so much like the movie, except I don’t remember the Rose Room being in the movie…? Wasn’t the rose in the West Wing?

Epcot Mickey // missblaser.com

Next stop was Epcot where the Flower & Garden festival was happening. It was breathtaking! So many flowers and fun topiaries (yes, I learned that word on this trip). I wish I had taken more photos of the landscaping.

Epcot UK // missblaser.com

After riding most of the rides we did the world showcase. We had lunch at the Les Halles Boulangerie & Patisserie (french bakery) in France and it was adorable and all the servers were so eloquent explaining what the desserts were. But the UK is always my favorite. I got a Crunchie bar which is a candy bar with honeycomb in the middle. Mmmm! (Check out that frizz. Humidity was not my friend this trip.)

Epcot Agent P // missblaser.com

We played Agent P’s World Showcase Adventure which was a lot more fun than I thought. We had heard about it for a while, but I’m really glad Daniel remembered to do it. I actually think I ended up liking it better than him. You meet at one of the Agent P. stations and they ask you to choose a county (I chose the UK, obvs) and then they give you this really dorky cell phone. Once you get to your country you press certain buttons and they give you clues to what you have to find. Example: Inside a light fixture above a random door once you were in front of it with your cell phone would reveal an Agent P figurine. Or a normal looking butterfly cage that once it was triggered by the cell phone a butterfly would flap it’s wings and reveal the next clue. It was really fun and totally something I would have been all about around ages 8–11.

Disney's Hollywood Studios // missblaser.com

Disney’s Hollywood Studios was a lot bigger than I remembered. Rockin’ Roller Coaster is a must. Especially when you have a husband that just acts like it is real the WHOLE time. “I can’t believe they got Aerosmith to play here!” “We get back stage passes?” “How are we going to get there on time?!”. Also, the Tower of Terror used to not bother me, but Daniel sikes me out almost every time.

Disney's Hollywood Studios // missblaser.com

For revenge? I took him to the Beauty and the Beast performance. Mostly because I was tired of walking and I wanted to see Belle’s dress. It was worth it. Even with all the cheese I still got goosebumps.

Harry Potter // missblaser.com

We made one day devoted to Harry Potter Land. I know the proper name is The Wizarding World of Harry Potter, but what a mouthful! Honestly, J. K. long names are not always better.

Harry Potter Hogwarts // missblaser.com

The Hogwarts ride was fantastic. I didn’t know what to expect at all. Somehow I missed all the spoilers in the past however many years it has been open. I recommend riding the ride that way. DON’T read up on it. I didn’t even know if it was a roller coaster, simulator, or 3D movie. I just got on. It was so great and all I will say is I blood-curdle-screamed during a certain part BOTH times we rode it, but don’t worry it followed with a huge laugh.

Harry Potter Butter Beer // missblaser.com

Best part about Harry Potter Land? the BUTTERBEER! More specifically, the FROZEN Butterbeer. It was….we shared 3…it was so yummy. It is like a butterscotch mixed with cream soda with an amazing melted vanilla ice cream on the top. I’m not really a fan of butterscotch OR cream soda OR soda floats and I loved this. It is a must.

Harry Potter Honeydukes // missblaser.com

Honeydukes is a really cute candy shop. We of course got Bertie Botts Every Flavor Beans (totally appropriate long name) and one Chocolate Frog. The beans were fun and tasty and the Chocolate Frog was cool to get the collectable card inside, but the chocolate was not good. I was expecting european chocolate and I was bloody disappointed.

Harry Potter Chocolate Frog // missblaser.com
Harry Potter Wardrobe // missblaser.com

xoxo
j

--

--